Recent Topics
Date code on Mighty Engine Guard II? Air Filter
by blufeb95 - 06/05/20 01:01 AM
My poor Jetta can't catch a break.
by FordBroncoVWJeta - 06/05/20 12:22 AM
Bought a truck finally, warning no Ford content
by bdcardinal - 06/04/20 11:31 PM
Got a septoplasty today....
by daves66nova - 06/04/20 10:44 PM
2020 330i xDrive Loaner
by MCompact - 06/04/20 10:02 PM
Appliance repair?
by motor_oil_madman - 06/04/20 09:44 PM
Glad we got a seasonal RV site
by Pat in Speedway - 06/04/20 09:19 PM
Mobil 1 AP Clearance at Wal-Mart
by KeithS_NW_Ohio - 06/04/20 09:07 PM
Recent experience with a Michelin Defender
by FordSVTGuy - 06/04/20 08:46 PM
music quality of speakers in the 70's vs now
by raaizin - 06/04/20 08:15 PM
pressure washer care
by raaizin - 06/04/20 08:06 PM
Watch Forums?
by maverickfhs - 06/04/20 07:53 PM
Who has a media/sand blast cabinet?
by spasm3 - 06/04/20 07:39 PM
Why isn't Polyethylene Glycol standard?
by RamFan - 06/04/20 06:37 PM
Motorcraft GF-6 at Quick Lane.
by Gene K - 06/04/20 06:29 PM
OEM Honda wiper blade curvature
by mclasser - 06/04/20 06:24 PM
GDI vs. MPFI OCI's
by LubricatusObsess - 06/04/20 06:19 PM
Mobil “full synthetic”
by 53' Stude - 06/04/20 06:01 PM
1992 Ford Ranger Brake Fluid Type
by yeehaw1960 - 06/04/20 04:21 PM
Of 0w-20 oils, which have highest VI
by Bill_W - 06/04/20 03:44 PM
Newest Members
stubby73, Polkaman, Ramboagain, tekfire07, Kernal
71608 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
15 registered members (FordCapriDriver, GMguy84, gfh77665, Lolvoguy, bbhero, FordBroncoVWJeta, 2 invisible), 727 guests, and 53 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums67
Topics306,228
Posts5,288,626
Members71,608
Most Online4,538
Jan 20th, 2020
Donate to BITOG
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Couldnt put stud in fully so it left a gap and torqued it in #5417832 04/30/20 10:47 PM
Joined: Jul 2019
Posts: 17
S
SpicySenpai Offline OP
OP Offline
S
Joined: Jul 2019
Posts: 17
Honda Civic 2009 LX

So I was replacing my rotors today until I met a dilemma where one of the studs broke after forcing a breaker bar at it (I couldn't loosen it with a impact wrench so I forced it).

I havent done it before but I had seen someone use a lugnut to tighten it before (I stripped the lugnut - dont do it) but I manage to get it past the stud splines but I left little or more than 2mm of a gap. I gave up, lost all hope, bought a new lugnut and finished the whole thing.

I put the wheels back and torqued the lugnuts to recommended setting (80ft/lbs) and moved on.

I finally got rid of my warped rotors, now I'm kind of worried i have a different problem coming soon.

Should I be worried?

Re: Couldnt put stud in fully so it left a gap and torqued it in [Re: SpicySenpai] #5417838 04/30/20 11:01 PM
Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 4,537
C
clinebarger Offline
Offline
C
Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 4,537
That's the issue with many press fit aftermarket parts, They make them oversized to fit wallowed out holes. I find myself drilling/reaming stuff often.


2001 Chevy Camaro L92/4L80E
2006 Chevy 2500HD LBZ/Allison 1000
2010 Toyota Corolla 2ZR-FE/U341E
2000 Toyota Avalon 1MZ-FE/A541E
Re: Couldnt put stud in fully so it left a gap and torqued it in [Re: clinebarger] #5417841 04/30/20 11:03 PM
Joined: Jul 2019
Posts: 17
S
SpicySenpai Offline OP
OP Offline
S
Joined: Jul 2019
Posts: 17
I'm not an experienced mechanic but assuming I put the splines in the hole I figured it'll be fine.

Just wanting to know if someone can give me a peace of mind or I have to get a stud kit and re-do it.

Re: Couldnt put stud in fully so it left a gap and torqued it in [Re: SpicySenpai] #5417843 04/30/20 11:04 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 20,855
C
Chris142 Offline
Offline
C
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 20,855
You did not add washers to help pull it in?


02 Wrangler Napa high milage 10w40
87 F250 Valvoline 15w40
07 fjcruiser Car lube plus 10w30
Z400 castrol T 10w40
Can am Maveric edge 5w40
57 case tractor Chevron sae30
Re: Couldnt put stud in fully so it left a gap and torqued it in [Re: Chris142] #5417844 04/30/20 11:06 PM
Joined: Jul 2019
Posts: 17
S
SpicySenpai Offline OP
OP Offline
S
Joined: Jul 2019
Posts: 17
The washers flattened..

Re: Couldnt put stud in fully so it left a gap and torqued it in [Re: SpicySenpai] #5417845 04/30/20 11:07 PM
Joined: Jul 2019
Posts: 17
S
SpicySenpai Offline OP
OP Offline
S
Joined: Jul 2019
Posts: 17
The washers flattened..

Re: Couldnt put stud in fully so it left a gap and torqued it in [Re: SpicySenpai] #5417846 04/30/20 11:09 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 20,855
C
Chris142 Offline
Offline
C
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 20,855
Use more


02 Wrangler Napa high milage 10w40
87 F250 Valvoline 15w40
07 fjcruiser Car lube plus 10w30
Z400 castrol T 10w40
Can am Maveric edge 5w40
57 case tractor Chevron sae30
Re: Couldnt put stud in fully so it left a gap and torqued it in [Re: SpicySenpai] #5417860 04/30/20 11:53 PM
Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 4,537
C
clinebarger Offline
Offline
C
Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 4,537
Originally Posted by SpicySenpai
I'm not an experienced mechanic but assuming I put the splines in the hole I figured it'll be fine.

Just wanting to know if someone can give me a peace of mind or I have to get a stud kit and re-do it.


You got 4 other studs/lugs holding the wheel on. I don't use lugnuts to draw studs into a hub, I use hardened nuts of the correct size with washers or a bearing. Use of anti seize helps a lot.

The correct procedure is to press them in from the backside.


2001 Chevy Camaro L92/4L80E
2006 Chevy 2500HD LBZ/Allison 1000
2010 Toyota Corolla 2ZR-FE/U341E
2000 Toyota Avalon 1MZ-FE/A541E
Re: Couldnt put stud in fully so it left a gap and torqued it in [Re: clinebarger] #5417868 05/01/20 12:19 AM
Joined: Jul 2019
Posts: 17
S
SpicySenpai Offline OP
OP Offline
S
Joined: Jul 2019
Posts: 17
Thank you.

Re: Couldnt put stud in fully so it left a gap and torqued it in [Re: clinebarger] #5417882 05/01/20 01:10 AM
Joined: Jul 2019
Posts: 17
S
SpicySenpai Offline OP
OP Offline
S
Joined: Jul 2019
Posts: 17
Originally Posted by clinebarger
Originally Posted by SpicySenpai
I'm not an experienced mechanic but assuming I put the splines in the hole I figured it'll be fine.

Just wanting to know if someone can give me a peace of mind or I have to get a stud kit and re-do it.


You got 4 other studs/lugs holding the wheel on. I don't use lugnuts to draw studs into a hub, I use hardened nuts of the correct size with washers or a bearing. Use of anti seize helps a lot.

The correct procedure is to press them in from the backside.


Thanks! I wish the 4 studs is good enough but I will fix it when I feel fixing it. It took me 7 hours just to do both sides I'm wiped

Re: Couldnt put stud in fully so it left a gap and torqued it in [Re: SpicySenpai] #5417924 05/01/20 05:25 AM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,195
Z
Zaedock Offline
Offline
Z
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,195
When replacing a broken stud, I use an acorn lug nut, backwards (tapered end toward you), with washers, to pull the stud in.


2019 Escape EB AWD/2016 KIA Optima SXL 2.0L Turbo/2012 F150 Ex-cab 5.0L
1992 YJ "The Heep"/2015 Chrysler 200 Limited
1975 Ford Bronco/1959 Willys CJ5/Tube Rock crawler
Re: Couldnt put stud in fully so it left a gap and torqued it in [Re: SpicySenpai] #5418075 05/01/20 09:32 AM
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 5,962
M
motor_oil_madman Offline
Offline
M
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 5,962
It will probably pull its way through eventually after a few heat cycles.


2007.5 dodge cummins 6.7 liter. Chevron Delo400 15w40. 7000 mile or 250-300hr intervals.

Re: Couldnt put stud in fully so it left a gap and torqued it in [Re: SpicySenpai] #5418121 05/01/20 10:28 AM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 21,869
The Critic Offline
Offline
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 21,869


2011 Toyota Prius 1.8L - 207K - Valvoline Premium Blue Restore 10W-30
2007 Honda Accord 2.4L - 146K - Valvoline Premium Blue Restore 10W-30
Re: Couldnt put stud in fully so it left a gap and torqued it in [Re: Zaedock] #5418452 05/01/20 04:03 PM
Joined: Jul 2019
Posts: 17
S
SpicySenpai Offline OP
OP Offline
S
Joined: Jul 2019
Posts: 17
Originally Posted by The Critic


Looks neat! I will buy one for future reference

Originally Posted by motor_oil_madman
It will probably pull its way through eventually after a few heat cycles.



I hope so - I still will re-check it after a few miles of driving

Originally Posted by Zaedock
When replacing a broken stud, I use an acorn lug nut, backwards (tapered end toward you), with washers, to pull the stud in.


Looking into amazon for one - thanks!

Re: Couldnt put stud in fully so it left a gap and torqued it in [Re: SpicySenpai] #5418568 05/01/20 05:45 PM
Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 2,661
M
mk378 Offline
Offline
M
Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 2,661
"Acorn" lug nuts are ordinary nuts used with steel wheels. It needs to be the kind with an open end so the stud can go through what is normally the wrong side when doing this.

I'd suggest drive a little then re-torque in case it did move.

Page 1 of 2 1 2
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

BOB IS THE OIL GUY® Powered by UBB.threads™