G44 or M&P 22

Looking for a fun to shoot 22 compact 3.5 to 4 in. Prices are approximately the same for the Glock G44 and the S&W M&P 22 compact. Reason to purchase one over the other if both feel good to handle? Ed

You don't own any Glocks or you wouldn't be asking the question and you're not a Glock hater. The G44 duplicates the size of a G19, the S&W is a bit smaller. Can't go wrong with either, handle both, guaranteed they will feel different to you.

Glock will have a different angle and trigger operation. Not sure if it makes a difference to you or not - only handling them (at minimum) or trying each will let you decide. If you have one or the other (or intend to buy one or the other) in a centerfire caliber, that would be the main reason, IMO to select one over the other.

Walter p22q might be a good option too. It is pretty small though, IMO.

Or a S&W 18 or 63, which would be my choice... depending upon size desired.

I have no personal experience with either, but a quick goole brings up some strife related to the G44...

I'd strongly advise cruising the respective forums at Rimfire Central...

hi eddie, is there any reason why you aren't considering a ruger sr22? ive put many thousand various rounds through mine, all great plinking fun. that said, while i have no direct experience with either the glock 44 or s&w m&p22, i do like s&w's m&p platform in 380acp, plus everything that i have heard about the m&p22 makes it sound like a great choice.

Sometimes it boils down to features that you want, or may want in the future. Things such as adjustable sights, replaceable sights, mounting rails, aftermarket accessories, etc. Especially if you might get into competition shooting someday, like indoor pistol.
Ends up being a personal choice.

I added the Ruger SR22 to the list. I wish I could handle all three guns in the same shop for comparison but, it appears not, at least in my area. Ed