ATF for 2005 Toyota Highlander 4 Cylinder

I have some Valvoline MaxLife ATF (red gallon jug) left from doing D&F's on all our Pontiac Vibes. Can I use this in a 2005 Highlander 4 cylinder?

What does your Owner's Manual recommend?
I mean, I've used it in my wife's RX300 that required T-IV. And I believe that ML states for T-IV and WS along with many other MFG's applications.

I have used Valvoline MaxLife ATF in Honda's Toyota's, Nissan's, Mazda's & GM's
I have also used Castrol TransMax Import Multi Vehicle is those same trannies.

Here's Maxlife ATF:

https://sharena21.springcm.com/Publ...bd3/3fa3136a-09bd-e711-9c12-ac162d889bd1

Last edited:
From the Idemitsu website Type I-V is the recommended fluid. Idemitsu LTS Kinematic Viscosity @ 40°C is 34.9. Kinematic Viscosity @ 100°C is 7.3. The Valvoline Max Life is 5.91/28.82. (For Toyota WS recommendation Idemitsu LTS-LV which is KV 5.3/22.8.) So....I'm no expert, but this tells me Max Life's KV is in between the two Idemitsu fluid types. I just did a pan drop in a 07' Rav4 V6 (Toyota WS) and used the Idemitsu LTS-LV. Shift's beautifully. Toyota dealer did a fluid flush using ? and after 25K the fluid did not look all that good. I'm impressed by the Idemitsu transmission fluid. The LTS-LV was $6 a quart @ Autozone. I'd personally would use the Idemitsu LTS fluid in your Highlander but I don't really see a problem using the Max Life as the specs are not that far off. Just my opinion.

Yes, you can use the Maxlife with no problem
smile.gif

T-IV compared to similar ATFs

T-IV
33cst (40°C)
7.1cst (100°C)

Mobil 1 3309
33cst (40°C)
7.1cst (100°C)

Dex III
33. 8 (40°C)
7. 3 (100°C)

Transmax multi (NOT Import)
35 (40°C)
7.1 (100°C)

Transmax Import Multi
36.6 (40°C)
8 (100°C)

Maxlife Multi
28.82 (40°C)
5.91 (100°C)

I wouldn't. LeakySeals has enough evidence to argue my case.

Use what the owner's manual calls for. Those "one size fits all" products bother me.