1/2 drive deep sockets

Hello, I am in the market for a set of sockets, deep, half in drive, SAE. Was thinking about the new ICON brand from HF. What do people recommend here, is there a better option out there? I am not a professional, just a weekend warrior but enjoy good tools and understand good tools cost money. But I dont think I need a $500 set of snap on sockets either.. what do you have experience with and recommend?

I've got a nice set of Williams Sockets. They're beautiful and work flawlessly. Made in the US. Flank drive (Williams makes sockets for Snap-on).

Bought them on Zoro. Used a 20% off coupon, which they run periodically.

https://www.zoro.com/snap-on-indust...-std-12pt-15pcs-sae-wss-15rc/i/G7169681/

Be careful, as not all Williams tools are made in the US. If the manufacturer part number is alpha-numeric, it's US. If it's all numeric, they're Taiwanese and still excellent tools.

The Taiwanese (I've got some from Williams) tools are an excellent value - top of the line tools, at a reasonable price. Ordered on Zoro, they're about the same price as the junk that Lowe's sells under the Craftsman name...

Last edited:
a friend has a set of ICON from harbor freight ..he loves them, I have a complete set of craftsman for years now ,Lowes sells craftsman but i'm not sure how good they are , I imagine they are still pretty good

Originally Posted by Redright9
Hello, I am in the market for a set of sockets, deep, half in drive, SAE. Was thinking about the new ICON brand from HF. What do people recommend here, is there a better option out there? I am not a professional, just a weekend warrior but enjoy good tools and understand good tools cost money. But I dont think I need a $500 set of snap on sockets either.. what do you have experience with and recommend?

Wright Tools. On Amazon and other places. A step below Snap-On. But quality made in USA.