New Ram... thoughts by owners?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Originally Posted by tcp71
Those air systems are magnificent when the truck is new. An expensive nightmare as they age and parts need replacing.

During pre-pandemic times, that wasn't an issue.
Most leasing vehicles were only interested in performance during the lease term.

After that period, who cares?
Even the infotainment system becomes outdated and the software probably won't be supported long after the warranty period.

Kinda late to this party, but I've been driving (modern) Rams since 2015--the first was a 3.6L V6 Quad Cab 4WD--excellent truck that I'd still have, except for the killer deal I was offered to trade that up to my present 2017 Ram 5.7L Crew Cab 4WD. Before buying Ram, I test drove the Ford F150, which was a nice truck, but the Ram was the clear winner in the comfort, and fit / finish categories. Also, the Ram dealer had much better pricing on comparably equipped trucks. Both of my Rams have had a few recalls each, none of which were a big deal and were completed quickly. Now retired, I don't put a lot of miles on, so I can't directly comment on longevity. I'd buy another Ram when it's time to trade.

2017 Ram pic.jpg

Last edited:
the one thing I hate on mine is the cheap plastic fuel door and how it operates. wish they stuck with the 4th gen style..

Originally Posted by Lolvoguy
Even the infotainment system becomes outdated and the software probably won't be supported long after the warranty period.

They stop releasing somewhat regular UConnect updates after a few years, but typically the bugs are all sorted out by the time they setting on a release. We have a couple 2014/2015 vintage trucks at the office now with UConnect that is updated to the most current version and works fine with all modern phones.