Pros vs Cons of upgrading to better filter

Hey guys,

This may be a dumb question, but as an oil information newbie I have been using as well had the previous owner, MC FL820S filters on my 05 Vic (2v 4.6) with 3,000mi synthetic changes (usu PP, M1) (save me the ridicule!) up until currently at 61,000. I have learned from a few people that the FL820s, while having a very good silicone anti-drainback valve, has some crummy filtering media that sometimes tears. Because of this, I plan on changing over to NAPA Gold filters in the future... but the question is.. has the "damage" already been done? Is there really a benefit to doing this at this stage in the game?

I also embarrassingly admit that I had left the PCV return hose (valve cover to intake tube) disconnected while doing work that required the intake removed for who knows how many miles (a few thousand perhaps), hopefully not screwing myself further!

Thanks.

There is no need to worry. Use another brand filter. The air filter is the most important filter.

No. Put whatever filter and 5w20/30 oil you want in the thing and change it within OEM Reccomended specs.
Then, sit back, relax
...and
Enjoy driving it for the next 200k+ miles. That engine isnt gonna miss a beat for awhile.

Originally Posted by PantherFan88
I plan on changing over to NAPA Gold filters in the future... but the question is.. has the "damage" already been done? Is there really a benefit to doing this at this stage in the game?

Of course it's worth doing ... you can only change the future, and not the past.

I don't want to ridicule but you're throwing 3k OCI's with a syn on that big lazy low tech engine? That thing ought to be good for 200k with a lot more abuse than that. This car came from the era when the engine would outlast the car no questions asked.

Last edited: