Getting My Harley Back On The Road

Status
Not open for further replies.
Just did new front tire (Dunlop 401) and fork seals because a seal blew out and one of them leaked. Have the rear tire left to do and she's 100%. Will use a Dunlop 401 also. 2007 H-D Dyna Street Bob with 11,000 miles. I'm not going to be doing much riding because I'm afraid of the possibility of overwhelming the hospital if I get in a wreck. Added fork boots to keep the dirt out so maybe these seals will last a little longer. 49mm Showa forks are pretty straightforward to work on. This is my first time rebuilding motorcycle forks.

fork seals.JPG

Last edited:
That's a good call with the dust boots. If you ride on dusty driveways or back roads that dust will wear them out alot faster. 13 years old, but with only 11k on it, man you gotta get out and rotate the tires more.,,,

Originally Posted by BigCahuna
That's a good call with the dust boots. If you ride on dusty driveways or back roads that dust will wear them out alot faster. 13 years old, but with only 11k on it, man you gotta get out and rotate the tires more.,,,

I know. I've had two surgeries and crazy work schedule, but looking to forward to more riding time after this pandemic is over.

Originally Posted by Jarlaxle
Those are bias-belted tube tires, right?

Yes. They are really stiff and I have my mechanic install the tire and tube. It's worth the 40 bucks.

Finished up the bike today. New brake pads, tires, fork seals and rear brake light switch. She's 100% now. Took it for a 10 or so mile shakedown run today to seat pads and check for issues.

dyna finished.JPG

Last edited:
Wow, bike looks great!
I consider myself handy and such, oil changes and tune ups, shocks and electrical on all my vehicles and boats my whole life.
But not comfortable or care too when it comes to shocks and steering neck service or changing tires on the bike.