2019/2020 VW Jetta GLI

I have no personal experience with Maserati but haven't heard or read many good things. It is beautiful and they sound fantastic, true.

With regard to Arco's post: https://www.bobistheoilguy.com/foru...62/re-2019-2020-vw-jetta-gli#Post5392462

Only in 2007+ was the ZF6 automatic available. And then there are the camshaft variators (seeminly worse in the automatics). And the phantom electrical loads that lower batt. voltage to the point where all manner of logic modules behave strangely. And then there is the wet cyl. block design (problematic in Alfa's... who knows in the Maser). And then there is the very, very substantial fuel consumption. And then there is the 4.2 litre engine... mismatched by way of operating characteristic to the automatic (versus the single clutch automated manual it was originally tuned to). I could go on, but...

Last edited:
The Kid is not going to buy a Maserati. I threw that out for us old guys.

Yes that engine needs a 1/2 ton lighter car with a close ratio MT.

But its not a obvious as the Quattroporte

or like that terrible mismatch "mistake" the SHO Taurus with the Yamaha 60deg V8 .

Yes I owned one for a couple weeks then ditched it.

My good friend has a SHO V6 he cares for like a baby keeping it running well and in mint condition.

Great guy.

Imagine if ford put that Yamahaha engine in a light weight SVO "Stang with a stick?

I vote for find another G37 maybe an IPL or Anniversary if budget allows, and ideally one that's had BITOG compulsive maintenance. Alternatly the 14-15 Lexus IS/GS350 are down to under $20k with reasonable miles and you can get a clean 15 RC350 for about $25k if you wanna roll the dice on a first year model.

Good time to buy...

Screenshot_20200404-123745_Facebook.jpg

Originally Posted by CincyDavid
TCU...yes, spend the $$ for the Autobahn trim, that's what makes it so A4-ish.

It will never be A4. It might look like to someone who does not care or does not know.