Wheel bearing grease discussion

One of the best wheel bearing greases is Mobil Infinitec 152. Unfortunately it's not commonly available to the general public, except in 5 gal pails. Lucky me I have a number of pints.

Originally Posted by doitmyself
Just some random comments here, as I have no experience with your Ford. Is it a 4 wheel drive hub?

The Polyrex product does not list the GC-LB spec for wheel bearing and chassis lube, so why would you even consider it. Same thing for your Mobil SCH 100 - it's an aircraft grease with no GC-LB listing: https://www.exxonmobil.com/en-US/Aviation/pds/GL-XX-Mobil-Aviation-Grease-SHC-100.

What is factory speced for your bearings? Is it Ford XG-11? Spec. WSS-M1C267-A1 ..... A Mobil product with this approval is: https://www.mobil.com/en-US/Grease/pds/GL-XX-Ronex-MP ...It seems to just be a typical lithium complex grease.

Most of these greases discussed have a Timken Load test of only around 40 to 50, so don't get hung up on the idea that you need a very high extreme pressure EP rating here. Somewhere (can't find it), Timken has a paper that warns against using VERY high EP rated greases for wheel bearings. As a group, I don't think we ever figured out why Ford is the the odd-man-out recommending moly in wheel bearings. It's generally thought of as an additive for sliding type applications, especially high load areas like pins/bushings, etc..

Based on all the general recommendations here, I think your only chance to identify a super grease that has proven better results in your Ford is to peruse all the Ford specific forums and see if there is a consensus. Sorry I can't help any better.