Mobil one oil filter cut open. Disappointed.

This filter did around 3k. I have never used a mobil1 filter before because I honestly think they are over priced. But I had heard good things on here from them and it was between that and fram which I'm not a fan of either. The 2011 honda crv kept sounding like it was having dry starts. I went and checked everything and came to the conclusion it was a faulty anti drainback valve. Cut it open and sure enough. Note the metal flakes on the filter as well.

20200326_173335.jpg

20200326_173339.jpg

20200326_173348.jpg

20200326_173406.jpg

20200326_173423.jpg

20200326_173443.jpg

Disappointing. Mobil 1 Oil Filters now use the same baseplate as Fram and Super Tech for my application. M1-103A vs ST 4967. Mobil 1 Oil Filters are over priced IMO. Nearly $11 for blended media with the same build quality as their $2.97 discount filter. I'd rather use the Super Tech E-Core for a normal OCI and save the $8.

Originally Posted by walterjay
You should contact the manufacturer and send them the info and pics.

Sure, but what would they do? Refund me 12 buck because the filter was still in that year warranty?

Originally Posted by Triple_Se7en
Is that new stock or old stock? Someone here mentioned Mobil-1 filters have changed suppliers and many have Ecore cages.

All I could tell you is it was bought in January. Is there a way to tell?

This is exactly what should be done, rather then posting here first. Unless of course you don't want them to see the failure mode?

Originally Posted by Micahmcmeen
Originally Posted by Triple_Se7en
Is that new stock or old stock? Someone here mentioned Mobil-1 filters have changed suppliers and many have Ecore cages.

All I could tell you is it was bought in January. Is there a way to tell?

Our Governor has ordered all non-essential workers to stay home and remain indoors AMAP. So I am avoiding large crowds at our Walmart, my favorite place to have a peek at new Mobil-1 filters.