We Lost 3 Republic Lines This Week

I'm a lead mechanic at Embraer Aircraft Maintenance Services, Inc. (EAMS) in Nashville. It was announced officially, yesterday (although I'd heard through the grapevine night before last), that Republic has pulled 3 of the 5 heavy maintenance lines they had with us. These were B5 checks that take about a month. Embraer 170 commuter airliners (70 seats). CommutAir has also announced that they won't be bringing any more planes in after the one E-145 we're working is finished.

With the sharp dropoff in demand for air travel, the airlines' revenue stream has experienced a steep decline, to say the least. And, without revenue coming in, it's hard for them to justify keeping airplanes in service and paying us millions to do these checks. So they're parking a bunch of jets.

This leaves us with 2 SkyWest lines that are doing B1 and B2 checks (I work on those lines), and the 2 remaining Republic lines. But no one knows if we'll be able to keep those lines. Things seems to be changing hourly.

I'm hoping for the best, but trying to prepare myself for the worst. This is the worst event that has happened since I got my A&P and got into this field in 2012. I guess the last event of this magnitude for the airline industry was 9/11.