Recent Topics
faulty bosch right angle drill
by benjy - 05/26/20 04:14 PM
2017 Accord Hybrid Brake Fluid Flush
by Tundragod - 05/26/20 04:12 PM
Lifelong mystery: ticking sound from hard-run V8
by IMSA_Racing_Fan - 05/26/20 04:08 PM
06 GMC Hybrid
by hardheaded - 05/26/20 03:57 PM
98 Camry busted oil drain plug
by JeffKeryk - 05/26/20 03:31 PM
Picked up a used Honda Push Mower today
by redhat - 05/26/20 02:43 PM
Mevotech vs. MOOG
by pbm - 05/26/20 01:47 PM
Any experience with MU-MIX ?
by henni - 05/26/20 01:22 PM
RA code
by Koncrete_Cam - 05/26/20 12:12 PM
best alternative to a group 79? hopefully more cca
by apollo18 - 05/26/20 11:25 AM
Gas Prices Are Going Up
by BlueOvalFitter - 05/26/20 10:49 AM
One way to "fix" a loud vehicle exhaust
by ZZman - 05/26/20 10:01 AM
Limited slip rear end in Tacoma
by taintedtattoo - 05/26/20 09:45 AM
Best Ball Joint and Pitman Arm Grease?
by 2015_PSD - 05/26/20 09:31 AM
12 volt air compressor
by John_Conrad - 05/26/20 08:42 AM
Battery Charging Compatibility
by cb450sc - 05/26/20 07:11 AM
Techron With GDI Engines Intake Vale Cleaning ?
by ChrisD46 - 05/26/20 06:58 AM
Current produced by 3 AA batteries
by MoneyJohn - 05/26/20 06:21 AM
Newest Members
MechEnDawg, jimbacot, MowerVet, RonWSmith3, LJB
71535 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
100 registered members (2015_PSD, Astro14, 1978elcamino, AlienBug, ArrestMeRedZ, Atrocious, 9 invisible), 2,722 guests, and 23 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums67
Topics305,909
Posts5,282,575
Members71,535
Most Online4,538
Jan 20th, 2020
Donate to BITOG
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Memory upgrade goes horribly wrong #5380568 03/19/20 04:53 PM
Joined: Mar 2020
Posts: 1
T
tillnova Offline OP
OP Offline
T
Joined: Mar 2020
Posts: 1
I have HP Pavilion dv6-21 Intel Core i3 CPU M 330 2.13GHz with 2x2GB RAM, my laptop supports up to 8GB upgrade. I needed upgrade and I went to Crucial website and their analytics showed compatible memory Crucial 8GB Kit (2 x 4GB) DDR3L-1600 SODIMM. Since it was out of stock I find Kinston SODIMM DDR3L 1600 4GB so the same specific just different manufacturer.

After installation I got blue screen 'Your PC run into problemm and needs to restart', after that black screen 'Preparing Automatic Repair' and it just keeps going like that in circle.

When I click ESC and enter into Startup, in BIOS it shows 8GB memory and after running a memory test it shows 'memory test pass' so that means that there is nothing wrong with the memory.

I tried putting just 1 stick, replacing their position but always the same.

Could someone please tell me can I use this memory at all or is there any additional tweak that I shoud take in resolving this matter.

Thanks!

Re: Memory upgrade goes horribly wrong [Re: tillnova] #5380570 03/19/20 04:55 PM
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 42,217
O
OVERKILL Online Content
Online Content
O
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 42,217
When you say you ran a memory test, did you run something like Memtest86? Because that's what you need to use. The Windows test is garbage.


2019 RAM 1500 Sport - Mobil 1 EP 0w-20, FRAM Ultra
2020 Grand Cherokee SRT - Ravenol SSL 0w-40, FRAM Ultra
Re: Memory upgrade goes horribly wrong [Re: tillnova] #5380583 03/19/20 05:17 PM
Joined: Mar 2018
Posts: 919
P
Pew Offline
Offline
P
Joined: Mar 2018
Posts: 919
Did you switch back to the old RAM to see if they're still working?

Re: Memory upgrade goes horribly wrong [Re: tillnova] #5380588 03/19/20 05:21 PM
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,729
S
stockrex Offline
Offline
S
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,729
put one stick each of the new one in bank0 and reboot and see if windows boots, this is after you reboot with old ram and confirm everything is good.


Ridgeline, Dmax, Ford 3.5
Oil Whisperer!*Fear the DINO*
Re: Memory upgrade goes horribly wrong [Re: tillnova] #5380590 03/19/20 05:24 PM
Joined: Jun 2015
Posts: 887
K
Kawiguy454 Offline
Offline
K
Joined: Jun 2015
Posts: 887
You tried using only one stick. did you try both sticks in this singular way. One of them could be culprit. Look for a legit DL of "Ultimate Boot CD" it has memtest on it you can boot from thumb drive. crosscheck the memory using the Kingston tool and see if it agrees the memory is compatible. https://www.ultimatebootcd.com/

Re: Memory upgrade goes horribly wrong [Re: tillnova] #5380592 03/19/20 05:29 PM
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 42,217
O
OVERKILL Online Content
Online Content
O
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 42,217
Just an FYI, but I have recently experienced something remarkably similar on an ASUS motherboard based desktop here. It had 2x2GB DDR3 1600 sticks in it and I replaced them with 2x 4GB 1600 sticks and it behaved just as you described. This was a machine I was going over and I couldn't even get it to finish booting the Windows 10 image, it kept crashing. It had 4x slots, I tried each stick individually in all 4x slots, the sticks were known-good, but the behaviour persisted. I swapped back in the 2x 2GB sticks, it booted no problem. I found 2x more 2GB sticks to bump it up to 8GB (all 4x slots populated) and it worked fine. I'm guessing the higher density 4GB sticks posed a compatibility issue, despite allowing the system to post. I've had a similar issue in the past with single-sided 2GB sticks in a board that when developed, 2GB sticks were lower density double-sided.

It may be that the sticks Crucial recommended were of a different density.


2019 RAM 1500 Sport - Mobil 1 EP 0w-20, FRAM Ultra
2020 Grand Cherokee SRT - Ravenol SSL 0w-40, FRAM Ultra
Re: Memory upgrade goes horribly wrong [Re: tillnova] #5380628 03/19/20 06:29 PM
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,467
J
JMJNet Offline
Offline
J
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,467
You need DDR3 NOT DDR3L?

Try to find DDR3 without the L.

DDR3 without the L is an older higher voltage memory module.
For most cases, they are not interchangeable.

Based on reading the spec you link in the original post.


  • 2017 Toyota Sienna
  • 1995 GMC Suburban 6.5L Turbo Diesel


Re: Memory upgrade goes horribly wrong [Re: JMJNet] #5380636 03/19/20 06:38 PM
Joined: Mar 2018
Posts: 919
P
Pew Offline
Offline
P
Joined: Mar 2018
Posts: 919
Originally Posted by JMJNet
You need DDR3 NOT DDR3L?

Try to find DDR3 without the L.

DDR3 without the L is an older higher voltage memory module.
For most cases, they are not interchangeable.

Based on reading the spec you link in the original post.


I think you're right. The I3-330M doesn't take DDR3L according to their site

Re: Memory upgrade goes horribly wrong [Re: tillnova] #5380732 03/19/20 08:38 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 14,707
R
Rand Offline
Offline
R
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 14,707
yep ddr3L 1600 in a 2010 laptop that has 1066mhz ddr3

nice catch.

or it might be some kind of memory incompatibility as Overkill explained.
a clue to this is the motherboard only supports 8GB max

I had that issue in ancient times (about 15 years ago is ancient for computers)


2019 Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk 2.0T
2020 Hyundai Elantra "Value Edition"
Re: Memory upgrade goes horribly wrong [Re: JMJNet] #5380754 03/19/20 09:02 PM
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 42,217
O
OVERKILL Online Content
Online Content
O
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 42,217
Originally Posted by JMJNet
You need DDR3 NOT DDR3L?

Try to find DDR3 without the L.

DDR3 without the L is an older higher voltage memory module.
For most cases, they are not interchangeable.

Based on reading the spec you link in the original post.


I think you might be bang-on the money here. He only provided a fragment of the model # in the OP, and if you use the Crucial tool and just snag one from the list that comes up you end up with the memory he chose:
[Linked Image]

However, if you go to the Kingston site and find the one with the matching CPU that he listed:
[Linked Image]

The memory recommendations are quite different (note they are all discontinued LOL )
[Linked Image]

So yeah, he needs the non low voltage part # here as you've surmised.


2019 RAM 1500 Sport - Mobil 1 EP 0w-20, FRAM Ultra
2020 Grand Cherokee SRT - Ravenol SSL 0w-40, FRAM Ultra
Re: Memory upgrade goes horribly wrong [Re: tillnova] #5380774 03/19/20 09:32 PM
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,467
J
JMJNet Offline
Offline
J
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,467
OP needs to buy from Ebay or Amazon marketplace if somebody happen to sell it used.
Other source will be Craigslist.

Please be careful to read the description not just the title on ebay.
It needs to be WITHOUT "L" or PC3 WITHOUT "L".

I don't think Crucial site sells DDR3 without "L" anymore.
It is 2 generation behind.

Latest and greatest being DDR4 and before that is DDR3L.


Last edited by JMJNet; 03/19/20 09:34 PM.

  • 2017 Toyota Sienna
  • 1995 GMC Suburban 6.5L Turbo Diesel


Re: Memory upgrade goes horribly wrong [Re: JMJNet] #5380794 03/19/20 10:31 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 2,025
E
edhackett Offline
Offline
E
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 2,025
Originally Posted by JMJNet
OP needs to buy from Ebay or Amazon marketplace if somebody happen to sell it used.
Other source will be Craigslist.


Amazon has suitable memory from several brands, Corsair, OWC, TIMETEC Hynix being the best options. It was used in the Macbooks of that era. As I recall mac certified memory guaranteed proper performance.
Here's an example: Corsair DDR3 1066

Ed


Never attribute to engineers that into which politicians, lawyers, accountants, and marketeers have poked their fingers.
Re: Memory upgrade goes horribly wrong [Re: tillnova] #5380819 03/19/20 11:48 PM
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 5,054
G
Gokhan Offline
Offline
G
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 5,054
Originally Posted by tillnova
I have HP Pavilion dv6-21 Intel Core i3 CPU M 330 2.13GHz with 2x2GB RAM, my laptop supports up to 8GB upgrade. I needed upgrade and I went to Crucial website and their analytics showed compatible memory Crucial 8GB Kit (2 x 4GB) DDR3L-1600 SODIMM. Since it was out of stock I find Kinston SODIMM DDR3L 1600 4GB so the same specific just different manufacturer.

After installation I got blue screen 'Your PC run into problemm and needs to restart', after that black screen 'Preparing Automatic Repair' and it just keeps going like that in circle.

When I click ESC and enter into Startup, in BIOS it shows 8GB memory and after running a memory test it shows 'memory test pass' so that means that there is nothing wrong with the memory.

I tried putting just 1 stick, replacing their position but always the same.

Could someone please tell me can I use this memory at all or is there any additional tweak that I shoud take in resolving this matter.

Thanks!

For memory upgrades I always buy cheap used memory from eBay.

Your problem has nothing to do with the memory. If it were, your computer would never boot, meaning it would never get past the BIOS load.

Blue screen means your operating system is corrupted. Download the Windows operating system on a DVD or a flash drive using another PC and then do a system reinstall with it. Do an upgrade -- not a fresh reinstall -- so that you don't lose your data.


2020 Toyota Prius Prime XLE plug-in hybrid, 2ZR-FXE engine, ~ 65 mpg on regular gasoline, ~ 5,000 mi
TGMO 0W-16 SN/RC Japan
OEM spin-on oil filter Japan
Re: Memory upgrade goes horribly wrong [Re: Gokhan] #5380830 03/20/20 12:22 AM
Joined: Nov 2018
Posts: 2,506
Skippy722 Online Happy
Online Happy
Joined: Nov 2018
Posts: 2,506
Originally Posted by Gokhan
Originally Posted by tillnova
I have HP Pavilion dv6-21 Intel Core i3 CPU M 330 2.13GHz with 2x2GB RAM, my laptop supports up to 8GB upgrade. I needed upgrade and I went to Crucial website and their analytics showed compatible memory Crucial 8GB Kit (2 x 4GB) DDR3L-1600 SODIMM. Since it was out of stock I find Kinston SODIMM DDR3L 1600 4GB so the same specific just different manufacturer.

After installation I got blue screen 'Your PC run into problemm and needs to restart', after that black screen 'Preparing Automatic Repair' and it just keeps going like that in circle.

When I click ESC and enter into Startup, in BIOS it shows 8GB memory and after running a memory test it shows 'memory test pass' so that means that there is nothing wrong with the memory.

I tried putting just 1 stick, replacing their position but always the same.

Could someone please tell me can I use this memory at all or is there any additional tweak that I shoud take in resolving this matter.

Thanks!

For memory upgrades I always buy cheap used memory from eBay.

Your problem has nothing to do with the memory. If it were, your computer would never boot, meaning it would never get past the BIOS load.

Blue screen means your operating system is corrupted. Download the Windows operating system on a DVD or a flash drive using another PC and then do a system reinstall with it. Do an upgrade -- not a fresh reinstall -- so that you don't lose your data.


Not necessarily. My brother picked up a new laptop a few years ago, it would run fine until you started trying to game on it, or opened 1 too many tabs in Chrome. Turns out 1 of the 2 4gb sticks was bad, had some obscene amount of errors when tested with Memtest.

Bought new sticks and it never had another BSOD.


2019 Ram 1500 Classic
2018 Dodge Grand Caravan GT

Slight Mopar obsession
Re: Memory upgrade goes horribly wrong [Re: tillnova] #5380852 03/20/20 01:21 AM
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 5,054
G
Gokhan Offline
Offline
G
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 5,054
That's easy to test -- simply put the old memory back and see if everything goes back to normal.


2020 Toyota Prius Prime XLE plug-in hybrid, 2ZR-FXE engine, ~ 65 mpg on regular gasoline, ~ 5,000 mi
TGMO 0W-16 SN/RC Japan
OEM spin-on oil filter Japan
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

BOB IS THE OIL GUY® Powered by UBB.threads™