Window Tint: Have no idea what to choose, tint newbie here.

Status
Not open for further replies.
llumar and get one of their Select Pro Dealerships

I ain't too worried about the law as all the dealers I have been to will not exceed what the law allows. They must have some liability.

My issue is backing out of tight spots at night. I usually have to open the driver's door to make sure I don't hit something. This is on my 4Runner which was purchased in TN where
they allow darker tint.

On my LS460L I had 20% in the back glass and back doors, 35% on the fronts. Depending on your local laws, I prefer 20% on everything but the windshield. It looks better, gives you some privacy and a bit more UV rejection. My most recent tint job was done with Global branded film. It gets great reviews for a reasonably priced film. Ceramic films will have more heat rejection but do cost more. I BS'd with the installer and watched my film come out of the packaging so I knew I got what I paid for.

Originally Posted by UG_Passat
[/quote]
https://www.tinting-laws.com/north-carolina/

35% VLT, but the includes the tint that is already on the windows, if so you use a 35% tint, your total VLT or visible light transmission is lower. But most cops don't know the difference.
NC State Police have test equipment, will use it if they think your glass is too dark and ticket you if your glass fails. Most inspection stations also have testers and won't pass it, either.

If I'm looking at a used car and it has tint on it, I deduct the cost of removing it from any offer. Every one I've bought that had it on it had to have it removed for one reason or another, and it's harder than putting it on.