8 passenger vehicle typically 5 for <=$15k

Status
Not open for further replies.
We are interested in an 8 passenger vehicle that seats 5 in two rows with lots of cargo under $15k and
Wife likes Sienna and Honda Pilot. Looking to keep around 5 years and move on.

Last edited:
Originally Posted by Miller88
How about a 3/4 ton passenger van? Used they go cheap

This is true! My Dad used one as a carpet cleaning van. 5.3L Vortec. Got 430K miles on that engine/trans before the body rusted out of the vehicle due to the water/chemicals.

Originally Posted by Miller88
How about a 3/4 ton passenger van? Used they go cheap
The only 3/4 passenger vans I see are the extended 16 passenger models. A 1/2 ton is more that sufficient.

I wouldn't want one as a daily, I have plenty of experience driving my Dad's old G30 extended and it feels like driving a bus. GM's van chassis is old enough to have completed a master's now (1997 IIRC).

Originally Posted by madRiver
We are interested in an 8 passenger vehicle that seats 5 in two rows with lots of cargo under $15k and

For 8 passenger I vote for a good used 5.3 Suburban.

Originally Posted by Tahoe4Life

For 8 passenger I vote for a good used 5.3 Suburban.

Can you get a good one for under $15K that has another 5 years/150K miles in it?

Sienna. In your price range, the Pilot will be from the era with awful VCM issues.

Here's an example of the Pilot/Odyssey issues from that era:
https://www.bobistheoilguy.com/foru...a-odyssey-spark-plug-fouling#Post5339702

Pilot or Sienna seem like fine ideas. Do you want the off-road capability of an SUV or do you want the capacity of a minivan? Sliding doors are, IMO, fantastic.

Most of the Odysseys out there are 8-passenger (I think the lowest trim and highest trim are 7). I think an 8-passenger Sienna is much rarer.