How long does it take to get good with a manual transmission?

Just thought I'd update this thread...

Less than a year later and 10,000+ miles, I feel like I'm a pro. Heel-toe, double-clutch, entering gears smoothly... have it all down. I rev match every gear and I rarely ever get any forward or backward motion when changing gears. I'm trying to now get down left-foot braking combined with a heel-toe double clutch but feels like I'll never be able to do that sequence smoothly.

I'll never go back to automatic, I find manual so much better.

I think it depends a lot on the vehicle. Something like my Jeep Wrangler 4.0 is easy to learn on because it has low end torque. You could start out in 2nd gear if you wanted to, and it isn't a super easy vehicle to stall. The same thing is true on something like a diesel truck with lower gearing. A little 4 cylinder like a Honda Civic that makes all of it's power in the higher RPM range is tougher to learn on. A lot of newer cars also have hill assist so you won't roll backwards which is probably the most challenging part about learning manual in my experience, because it makes people nervous. One of the hardest manual vehicles I've driven was actually a friend's 4 cylinder Ford Ranger. The truck was decently heavy, the engine had very little low end torque, and it was higher mileage so the clutch engagement was a bit finicky at times.

Originally Posted by jeepman3071