Oil Capacity 2008 CR-V

Status
Not open for further replies.
Changing oil in a 2008 Honda CR-V and the owner's manual says 4.4 qts with filter change. Amsoil site says 4.4 qts with a filter change. I changed filter with OEM Honda filterband added 4.5 qts and the oil only comes up to the bottom mark on the dipstick (after setting over night). I added the extra 1/2 qt and it only comes up to the middle of the marks on the dipstick. It appears the engine takes 5.5 qts. This is my first time changing the oil in this car (and it ain't mine) and I am a little confused.

Any ideas from you CR-V owners?

I service the K24 with 5 quarts of synthetic 5w30 or 5w20 oil and a good filter.
I let it drain for a minimum of 15 minutes, generally longer. More oil drains if you remove the filter with the oil plug uninstalled.
Brings the level up to the top mark.

Originally Posted by JeffKeryk
. ....More oil drains if you remove the filter with the oil plug uninstalled.

That is exactly what I did and a bunch of oil came out when I removed the filter. I mean a bunch.

I have put in 5.5 qts and it is at top notch on stick.

09 here. I always thought the 4.4 was a little light. I always seem to end up using very close to 5. I have to "angle" the dipstick out - it come straight up and hits the hood - so I figured I was throwing off the measurement a bit.

I've found Honda's oil capacities to be wrong. Just figure out how much it takes to get to the full mark and go from there.

I have never needed more than 5 quarts. And I have serviced K24s more than 30 times.
Check the level cold on a fairly level surface; please post your results. Ya never know...

Last edited:
I have never needed more than 5 quarts. And I have serviced K24s more than 30 times.
Check the level cold on a fairly level surface; please post your results. Ya never know...

It drained over 5 hours. FYI (Daytona and Joker)

Will do. It's sitting in my garage now. I'll give it a few hours and recheck with pic.
thumbsup2.gif