Recent Topics
1994 Buick Century 63k miles pics
by MuzzleFlash40 - 02/26/20 04:10 AM
Oils for old engines
by puma4440 - 02/25/20 08:18 PM
Do you still use liquid and paste sealants
by WhyMe - 02/25/20 08:16 PM
VW dealer hilarity - window tinted the wrong car.
by pezzy669 - 02/25/20 07:53 PM
New style Goodyear Duratrac
by NHRATA - 02/25/20 07:44 PM
Need oil additive advise for replacement engine.
by 13Track38 - 02/25/20 07:18 PM
New member with UOA to share
by JamesGames - 02/25/20 07:10 PM
When do you do DIY?
by BMWTurboDzl - 02/25/20 06:47 PM
synchromesh
by hunter29 - 02/25/20 06:41 PM
Ever buy a stranger lunch ?
by Mr Nice - 02/25/20 06:18 PM
36 bucks for balancing two tires....
by Vern_in_IL - 02/25/20 05:20 PM
project farm like test for Maxlife vs toyota WS
by danez_yoda - 02/25/20 05:09 PM
Audi Q5 Transmission oil?
by John344 - 02/25/20 04:35 PM
Valvoline Modern engine
by Villalobos - 02/25/20 04:35 PM
Rust bubbles
by WA1DH - 02/25/20 04:27 PM
Which of these sub $4 filters
by jayjr1105 - 02/25/20 04:05 PM
Flaring tool
by P10crew - 02/25/20 01:52 PM
Hazet 600LG/8 Wrench set - $160
by drtyler - 02/25/20 01:34 PM
Newest Members
akarip, BJD2020, ToyTaco2002, EarlT500, Newbie111
70801 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
22 registered members (53' Stude, Brian553, Bjornviken, ctechbob, 5 invisible), 1,152 guests, and 20 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums67
Topics301,933
Posts5,205,755
Members70,801
Most Online4,538
Jan 20th, 2020
Donate to BITOG
Print Thread
Hop To
Microsoft Windows question #5343539 02/07/20 09:54 AM
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 15,502
S
supton Offline OP
OP Offline
S
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 15,502
What is this GUI feature called? I don't know how to best describe it.

Do you remember Win 3.11 and clicking on the Edit menu, having it pull down, and then clicking on every sub-menu? Win95 brought in this ability of the mouse to hover over the sub-menu and it'd automatically select the sub-menu for you. This is the feature I'm talking about.

I realize it's been around for 25 years now, but... I've never warmed up to it. Is there a way to disable it? I feel like I have poor eye-hand coordination and keep "missing" the menu when I mouse right, and have to mouse left to pull up the sub-menu again. Feels like a time suck (yes I know, it's fractions of a second) but whatever--it's a computer, everything can be customized to the user, right? If nothing else, I'd like to know how to disable it and then try it for a bit, to see if I like that old method (or not).

Yes I know, I'm being antiquated--it's Friday, enjoy the laugh.


2011 Toyota Camry, base, 2.5L/6MT, 203k, hers
2010 Toyota Tundra DC, 4.6L/6AT, 158k, ours
1999 Toyota Camry LE, 2.2L/4AT, 223k, his
Re: Microsoft Windows question [Re: supton] #5343598 02/07/20 10:47 AM
Joined: Apr 2017
Posts: 3,239
H
hallstevenson Offline
Offline
H
Joined: Apr 2017
Posts: 3,239
Keep moving your mouse

Re: Microsoft Windows question [Re: hallstevenson] #5343603 02/07/20 10:52 AM
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 15,502
S
supton Offline OP
OP Offline
S
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 15,502
Originally Posted by hallstevenson
Keep moving your mouse

I do that *all freekin' day*. I do a lot of freehand CAD drawing work, like 4 and up to 8 hours a day, drawing lines and dragging things. When doing that, if my hand twitches, it's a minor thing to undo the twitch, only off by a mm on the screen. But menu selections "twitch" requires me to mouse back "a long ways". It's a small nuisance that occurs multiple times per day.

I could memorize the various menu key selections, or program hot keys, or even get one of those fancy mice with programmable buttons. But I worry that, if I ever get Parkinsons or the like, that I'll be apt to toss a computer out the window.


2011 Toyota Camry, base, 2.5L/6MT, 203k, hers
2010 Toyota Tundra DC, 4.6L/6AT, 158k, ours
1999 Toyota Camry LE, 2.2L/4AT, 223k, his
Re: Microsoft Windows question [Re: supton] #5343635 02/07/20 11:26 AM
Joined: Feb 2017
Posts: 96
V
Variant_S Offline
Offline
V
Joined: Feb 2017
Posts: 96
I do not know the answer to the problem, but the menu behavior is called a 'flyout menu'.

I've found in some programs (Firefox comes to mind) that I can click on the menu entry that led to the flyout sub-menu and that holds the sub-menu on the screen regardless of my accuracy at moving the cursor to it. This is on a recently-migrated Win10 desktop, so as always, YMMV.

Re: Microsoft Windows question [Re: supton] #5343645 02/07/20 11:37 AM
Joined: Dec 2018
Posts: 54
W
WondrousBread Offline
Offline
W
Joined: Dec 2018
Posts: 54
This can be done, but it requires software that unlocks hidden options in Windows 10

https://winaero.com/blog/disable-start-menu-auto-expand-on-mouse-over-in-windows-10/

As to why Microsoft doesn't just give us the option, who knows.

Re: Microsoft Windows question [Re: WondrousBread] #5343699 02/07/20 12:54 PM
Joined: Apr 2017
Posts: 3,239
H
hallstevenson Offline
Offline
H
Joined: Apr 2017
Posts: 3,239
Originally Posted by WondrousBread
This can be done, but it requires software that unlocks hidden options in Windows 10

As to why Microsoft doesn't just give us the option, who knows.

There have been tweakable options since Win95 where you either changed a "0" to a "1" on a certain flag in the registry (or add the flag yourself) or there were apps that would do various tweaks. For 99% of users, it would just confuse the UI to add options for all of that stuff, hence the 3rd-party apps. In the Win95-98 timeframe, Microsoft did offer their "Power Tools" that could do a lot of this type of stuff.

Re: Microsoft Windows question [Re: WondrousBread] #5343724 02/07/20 01:27 PM
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 1,221
D
Dave9 Offline
Offline
D
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 1,221
Originally Posted by WondrousBread
This can be done, but it requires software that unlocks hidden options in Windows 10

https://winaero.com/blog/disable-start-menu-auto-expand-on-mouse-over-in-windows-10/

As to why Microsoft doesn't just give us the option, who knows.

Because MS wants a standardized user experience where people can jump from one PC to another and already know how it works, and the less they allow people to change, the less likely they'll break something.

Re: Microsoft Windows question [Re: Dave9] #5343743 02/07/20 01:48 PM
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 15,502
S
supton Offline OP
OP Offline
S
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 15,502
Originally Posted by Dave9
Because MS wants a standardized user experience where people can jump from one PC to another and already know how it works, and the less they allow people to change, the less likely they'll break something.

I get that, and tend to run software as-is out of the box, largely because I'll know that I'll forget how to make changes years later when I switch machines: but after 25 years, I still hate this menu setup. Well, "hate" might be too strong, but I sure have not warmed up to this change.

I also miss the Unix feature where if you mouse over a window, it's now active. I like that I don't have to click on the window to scroll, at least, that is a step forward. But. Excel doesn't support this! If I am switching between any other program and Excel, I have to always click in order to scroll or even just to be active in that window.

Huge first world problems, I know.


2011 Toyota Camry, base, 2.5L/6MT, 203k, hers
2010 Toyota Tundra DC, 4.6L/6AT, 158k, ours
1999 Toyota Camry LE, 2.2L/4AT, 223k, his
Re: Microsoft Windows question [Re: supton] #5343791 02/07/20 02:53 PM
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 15,502
S
supton Offline OP
OP Offline
S
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 15,502
Ah, if I click on the menu, it does seem to fix it, at least until I go back to the left. Perhaps that is good enough, it really is only the fact that if I don't go precisely to the right that causes the menu to go away, and that is what bugs me.

I'll try this for a bit and see if it makes me happy.


2011 Toyota Camry, base, 2.5L/6MT, 203k, hers
2010 Toyota Tundra DC, 4.6L/6AT, 158k, ours
1999 Toyota Camry LE, 2.2L/4AT, 223k, his
Re: Microsoft Windows question [Re: supton] #5348331 02/12/20 04:38 PM
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 1,221
D
Dave9 Offline
Offline
D
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 1,221
Originally Posted by supton
I get that, and tend to run software as-is out of the box, largely because I'll know that I'll forget how to make changes years later when I switch machines: but after 25 years, I still hate this menu setup. Well, "hate" might be too strong, but I sure have not warmed up to this change.


Not me, after installation I immediately try to make it look and act more like Win2k. I tolerate the colored themes just to make it look less than 20 years old, lol. Obviously some things can't be changed when moving to a newer OS version, but it goes beyond just learning a new GUI, many things in newer Windows versions are more cumbersome to do in an attempt to make it dumbed down and sleek looking, so it looks tidy with less text... because empty space is apparently the cool thing to do now, so you're left clicking this and that to find where something is hidden then have to memorize that sequence to get there. It may be deliberate, that they don't really want you to get anything done, just be using windows while you don't.

Last edited by Dave9; 02/12/20 04:40 PM.
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

BOB IS THE OIL GUY® Powered by UBB.threads™