Oiled Or Greased Studs?

Status
Not open for further replies.
In the Prius owner manual they tell you not to oil or grease the wheel studs because the nuts may loosen.
I've been lubing mine for decades and never seemed to notice any problems with wheels loosening.

Do you lube your studs or not?

Lug nuts are to be installed dry. The friction between the ball ,seat and threads are what keeps them on. Lubricate one of those and you lose 1/2 of the things that keep them on.

With steel wheels it is important that the area where the lug nut bears on the wheel is dry bare metal. Putting oil or grease on the threads is OK but don't overdo it.

I never oil mine. Never even knew people did this until recently.

Yes, I grease mine. My owner's manual (Buick) says not to use oil or grease on the lug nuts or studs.

It also has a maintenance schedule that goes only to 150K miles. Left that on every vehicle I've ever owned.

I've been using Sil Glyde on my lug studs for 30+ years, along with a torque wrench and I reduce torque by 10% due to lube. Never had any issue. Those engineers who wrote the manual with advice and consent from attorneys aren't going to be there on a dark and stormy night to change a tire for me. FWIW, my owner's manual has NO scheduled maintenance for brake fluid nor power steering fluid changes, but I do these because it lets me sleep better at night; and common sense tells me that hydraulic systems work better with clean fluid.
My owner's manual also tells me to check my Windshield Washer fluid level at each fuel fill. Who does that?

Peace, Love & Jellybeans

I use T9 Boeshield. One drop on the threads near the end of the bolt or stud so that it "carries" when you screw things together. I let it dry before reassembly. Never use anything on taper or ball socket.

Scott

Originally Posted by Ihatetochangeoil
Yes, I grease mine. My owner's manual (Buick) says not to use oil or grease on the lug nuts or studs.