MMO works for this application

Status
Not open for further replies.
Bought when new a 04 explorer with the 4.0 engine. I usually use Costco or Kwik Trip gas. Every 3 to 4 years after filling the gas tank, the gauge will not go to the full mark. You have to drive for 20 to 30 minutes before it reaches the full mark. With trial and error I have found by using the recommended amount of MMO in the gas it will take about 2 tank full's to go back to registering the correct amount after the fill. I'm not a mechanic but a better DIY after owning a Ford product.

Over the years I had MMO get the gas gauge to work on two Fords, from the 60's and a 72 Plymouth Satellite. If there is some kind of foreign matter, varnish, etc. causing it to malfunction it probably cleans it up. Once they started working again I would add it to the fuel at each fill up, [if I remembered] and they worked for several years after.

Don't confuse this post with data.

I've read several posts involving a good cleaner (Chevron Techron) "getting fuel gauges to work again".

Baffles in gas tanks can become unattached and foul the float. It was common in Saabs of my era.

I just bought an '05 Ranger with the same engine. Given the way it drinks fuel (think Niagara Falls) I'd bet the fuel gauge hardware would WEAR OUT before anything else could happen.

With pretty much all fuel having up to 10% ethanol it might be good practice using a little bit of MMO from time to time. It won't harm anything for sure.

Originally Posted by diyjake
With pretty much all fuel having up to 10% ethanol it might be good practice using a little bit of MMO from time to time. It won't harm anything for sure.

Does MMO remove ethanol?

Originally Posted by Kira

I've read several posts involving a good cleaner (Chevron Techron) "getting fuel gauges to work again".

Baffles in gas tanks can become unattached and foul the float. It was common in Saabs of my era.