Fun spark plug discussion

Status
Not open for further replies.
When I started as a mechanic I remember the Mercury Comet and Ford Maverick V8's.

suspension Coil tower was right next to plug. You really had to undo motor mounts to get to the thing.

ButiF you have a lift no giant deal, just add 1/2 hour to the job.

Then I had a Mitsu 3000gt TTv6. I don't think you could drop a marble and have it fall out to the ground anywhere unfer that hood.

IIRC the intake was wrapped rearward over the rear bank and had to come off.

A few Japanese designs are this way I hear.

Originally Posted by slacktide_bitog

It's impossible to change the spark plugs on a 4th gen Camaro/Firebird because they tuck the engine under the windshield.

Not impossible but they are a giant pain. With the stock headers you pretty much have to do the back plugs on both sides from underneath the car, and to get the 5 and 6 you usually need a cut down spark plug socket. Putting on headers definitely helps, I can do all 8 from the top of my 94 these days but it still a very tight fit.

Originally Posted by LDM
Originally Posted by slacktide_bitog

It's impossible to change the spark plugs on a 4th gen Camaro/Firebird because they tuck the engine under the windshield.

Not impossible but they are a giant pain. With the stock headers you pretty much have to do the back plugs on both sides from underneath the car, and to get the 5 and 6 you usually need a cut down spark plug socket. Putting on headers definitely helps, I can do all 8 from the top of my 94 these days but it still a very tight fit.

The LT1 in a 4th gen certainly makes for a challenging spark plug change with stock manifolds. When I bought my 94 I changed the plugs, and they had already been "changed" once, with the exception of the #8 plug which appeared older and original.