Old Tundra Headlamp Upgrade

Status
Not open for further replies.
A while back I noticed the headlights were not too good on our old Tundra; it has just shy of 200K on the clock.
Click-click-click on Amazon for some cheapo LED replacement lamps and Maguire's Restore Kit.
The kit worked pretty well, I'd say. I've never done this before.
I am very happy with the results. I love my old truck, as do my neighbors.

Tundra Light 04.jpeg

Tundra Light 02.jpg

Last edited:
and now you're probably illegally blinding other drivers. There are expensive housings that have the proper focus. There are no cheap LED lamp drop-ins that do.

The restore kit was a good idea if you don't have the abrasive components to DIY without one, but a new incan bulb is the correct solution for an incan housing.

Originally Posted by Dave9
and now you're probably illegally blinding other drivers. There are expensive housings that have the proper focus. There are no cheap LED lamp drop-ins that do.

The restore kit was a good idea if you don't have the abrasive components to DIY without one, but a new incan bulb is the correct solution for an incan housing.

Finally SOME of the cheap kits have the proper light exit points on the bulb and diffuser that will allow the bulb to mimic a traditional incandescent.
But you really have no assurance that the product is correct with no name stuff !

One thing you can do is have a friend or family out on the road pass you by a few times with the lights on at night.....what did they find?

Looks like light scatter above where the cut-off should be. Yes, you are likely blinding oncoming drivers now.

Let's see a picture with one halogen and one LED.

Here was my car, came with LED, went back to incandescent:

[Linked Image]