2.4L GDI Turbo available?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm new to the import scene, always told myself I wouldn't. But, having to drive an hour to work, one way, decided it was time to get something a bit more economical. I've been looking all over the interwebs, searching for turbo kits for my 2014 K5 Optima. Everything I've found tells me they're only available for the 2.0L. My question is 2 fold; Is there a reasonably priced turbo kit anyone knows of? And, what are the chances the intake manifold is the same for the 2.4L as it is for the 2.0L? Thanks to those that respond, over & out.

It would probably be a much safer bet to sell the car you have and buy one with the 2.0 turbo. There is more to it than just slapping a turbo on. I'm not certain of the exact differences between the 2.4 and the 2.0T but I don't think the 2.4 was built with turbochargers in mind so it is probably not quite as stout.

This isn't something I'm dead set on doing, I'm just looking into it to see what the options are. Is it affordable, what else would need to be done to the engine to sustain the boost in power, etc.. I appreciate the replies.

You asked about a "cheap turbo"
Question 1. Do you have enough money for a replacement engine if the turbo causes the current one to pop?
Question 2. Do you have an extra car to use?
If you answered no to either of these questions, forced induction isn't right for you.