New Mobil "Full Synthetic" at AZ

Status
Not open for further replies.
There have been endless posts on these things whereas the modern engine posts probably fell short. I no longer consider what happened inside a Ford modular as empirical evidence of how far you can push an oil in new engine designs ...And have mentioned several changes between my 2010 and 2017 ‘same' engine and I'm still learning of more

Originally Posted by buster
The larger companies like XOM/Shell/Castrol have the R & D and testing resources to develop their own formulations. Complete certified additive packages are intended generally for small companies that lack these capabilities. However, the major companies may also go this way for specialty products or product line "fillers" that lack sufficient market share to justify the expense. The additive suppliers have a relationship with the major formulators. XOM/Shell jointly own Infineum, so they have some advantages. The large major brands do most of their own development work on their flagship oils in house, for example Mobil 1, but will work with additive suppliers as well.

If you can develop a less expensive way to meet a spec, it's going to make its way into that product. No one is in business to lose money. That goes for any company.

Sounds like Warren Distribution. Without the cost of sponsorships and advertising.

But pay more for base oil ...

Figure out what that means

You are not considering fuel is in the mix in sponsoring

Last edited:
Buy using as much cheap XOM base oil as they can get away with and still make D1.2 ... then put the magic S word on the bottle ...

That's why I think the new Mobil Pegasus oil is their own 2nd entry into the charade parade

Originally Posted by 4WD
Buy using as much cheap XOM base oil as they can get away with and still make D1.2 ... then put the magic S word on the bottle ...

That's why I think the new Mobil Pegasus oil is their own 2nd entry into the charade parade