MPG decrease in very cold weather??

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm kinda new to driving and was wondering what kind of penalty I can expect in extremely cold weather(-20c sustained)? Drives are typically 15mins or less.

I replaced my lower intake manifold gasket and though performance has returned fuel economy has slightly dropped. It's only been a 1/2 tank though and since i did the repair it's been at least -15c every day. I'd like to hear your thoughts or observations on mileage in the cold.

Originally Posted by JohnnyJohnson
Well how long is it going to take for that engine to warm up and that engine idle to drop below 1800 RPM?

It idles at 800rpm at startup then falls to 700 in about 5 mins and gets to temp by the time I get to work 15mins.

How much are you idling? I can ssy my mpg went from 17-18 to 14-15 in winter. All short trips. Granted I am am idling alot more whereas i dont ever idle in spring, summer, or fall...

Originally Posted by 2009Caraman
I'm kinda new to driving and was wondering what kind of penalty I can expect in extremely cold weather(-20c sustained)? Drives are typically 15mins or less.

I replaced my lower intake manifold gasket and though performance has returned fuel economy has slightly dropped. It's only been a 1/2 tank though and since i did the repair it's been at least -15c every day. I'd like to hear your thoughts or observations on mileage in the cold.

What car? What oil is in the car? Is it in garage?
Whatever you do, first few km's do not turn on heat and vent for 2-3km's as that delays warming up. Also, do not idle longer than necessary to put seatbelt, get accomodated. Move and move slowly, allowing transmission (assuming it is automatic) to [censored] around 2,000rpms.

At -35C, right after startup, on a car that typically gets 32mpg, the real-time MPG (on flat land) can be as low as 4-5mpg on my car. Early 1990s 3.1L GM V6.