Refoaming woofer drivers

Status
Not open for further replies.
Leamington, ON, CA - between Detroit and Cleveland
I came by a pair of old Allison AL-120 speakers a while ago that had deteriorated woofer surround foams.
I removed the 4 woofers and cleaned up the cones & baskets. The new replacement surrounds arrived today from SimplySpeakers.
I have glued the 4 foam surrounds to the cones this afternoon and they are curing/drying. Soon I will be aligning and gluing the foam to the baskets.

Anyone else here rebuild speakers?
I've never done this before. May be a new career move (at 75 yrs old)

Heh, I have plenty of speakers, but none of them old enough to need new foams. I think my oldest are PSB Alpha B bookshelves that I bought in 2006, and a 12" SVS cylinder sub bought around the same time.

Any pics of your speakers and the refoaming process?

I have done that before. Saved an older set of JBL 8 inchers. Once you glue down the cone to the basket, immediately run music through them while they dry, and that will help align the voice coils so they don't bind on the magnet

I have done one pair. The foam kit I ordered came with a cd to play at low power to keep the coil centered. I think it was like a 40hz test tone to keep it from moving too fast. It also came with clear plastic shims to center the voice coil, but you have to remove the center cap to use them.

Last edited:
Just follow the instructions and space the voice coil evenly. Make sure you are at the null point when you glue the circumference. The new foam is stiff enough to pull or push the coils so be careful. I haven't tried the playing music on uncured glue trick.

You don't need the music to be loud enough to hear, just enough to make the coil center it's self. Using a battery may be even better because it would hold the cone stationary. I am not sure how many volts you would need a 2 AA holder from lowes or home depot should work and not over heat the voice coil.