Anybody have or drive a box truck? Does it have a spare tire?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Specifically a truck with dual rear wheels. I would like to add a spare and looking for ideas where to store it. Mounting it under the vehicle would be difficult and just putting one in the box loose, is too cheap.

Virtually all companies don't want their company drivers changing a flat on the road. There are commercial tire company's that will change out a flat 24/7/365. I'm a semi mechanic.
The steer tires, drive tires and trailer tires are all different. Most box trucks have steer tires and drive tires which don't match.

They are the same all around for my E450. Who wants to wait around for a tire company and then spend $300+ for a new tire and a service call when you could carry your own spare and change it in 15 minutes.

My F-450 didn't come with one, picked up a junkyard one and mounted it in the front of the service body. Couple of oak blocks, 20 ton bottle jack, truck cross wrench from AAP, good to go. I'm not waiting 2-3 hours & spending $200-300 on roadside assistance, no way. Although I haven't needed it-yet...

I've considered it for my E450 since all 6 of the wheels are the same. Had the truck for over 5 years without a flat.

My truck did come with Michelin LTX tires that were recalled for tread separations, but I was unaware until it happened to the inside left rear tire driving 65mph. Never lost air and I was able to limp it home at low speed and take care of it there so I didn't have to call for help. I did get 6 new tires out of the trouble.

[Linked Image]

My work truck is a leased 24' Flatbed. When I have a flat they send out a tire service to change it out.

Originally Posted by Black_Thunder
could always mount it to a bracket right in front of the vehicle in front of the grill like the old RV's and camper specials
wink.gif