I'm just a shade tree mechanic, but something...

Status
Not open for further replies.
seems off with this caliper!

I belong to a sub-group in my church that does free auto repair for those in need in our community. A lady wanted someone to look at her brakes because they "sounded funny" . This is what I found...subject was a 2007 Chevy Express 3500 van. She is a single mom of 8...

IMG_2068.jpg

WOW!! Never seen that before. How big are these kids? And EIGHT?? Wow again. Was the pad worn way down? Maybe the piston was very extended.

Originally Posted by NYEngineer
WOW!! Never seen that before. How big are these kids? And EIGHT?? Wow again. Was the pad worn way down? Maybe the piston was very extended.

The pad was gone...piston was pushing on the rotor. The slide pins had frozen...this was the right rear. All other pads on all four corners had more than 50% life left.

I have only seen a couple of her kids...one was a teenager, the other about 5. I don't know any history/backstory...I just contribute by fixing cars ;-)

I was kidding about the size of the kids. A 3500 series van should certainly carry them all.

Makes way more sense that the pad was gone. Many years ago, I was driving a Ford E250 in NYC and as I was rolling up to a red light with my foot applying the brakes, Suddenly, the pedal went halfway to the floor and then caught again which almost gave me a heart attack. The pad material separated from the backing and must have shot out. When the backing contacted the rotor was when I got the pedal back. Same thing could have happened to her.

That's an excellent thing you guys do. Good on you. I don't belong to a church but I help older people who ask for help with their cars. My next door neighbor is 87 and a Navy vet. He always starts to try and do repairs himself. I always take over and finish. He keeps telling me he owes me a steak dinner. I just tell him have a cup of coffee with me.