Oil Filter Wrench Opinion

Status
Not open for further replies.
I only have Toyota and Lexus cars. I can use those big evil looking pliers to take off most of my canister filters. What do you recommend to remove the canister filters where the pliers won't fit? I'm gonna have to have that end cap style on the GX470.

What do you recommend for the cars that don't have canister filters?

Thanks!

It depends on what the access is like. I use a end cap wrench on one screw on filter and a band wrench on the other,

I have been changing oil since around 1970 on my own vehicles. I just keep buying new wrenches if the ones I have do not work on the latest car I bought. I have many now.

I do try and remove by hand first. As I get older that works less and less.

Gotta use an end cap. It appears that I can get wrenches that will work on both the cartridge style filters and the other plain paper ones as well.

If you change the oil yourself, you shouldn't need any oil filter wrench for a spin-on can because you are only supposed to tighten them by hand
smile.gif

The very first time you change the oil on a given car may be different since shops and even the factory install filters way too tight
mad.gif

In those cases, use a hammer and screwdriver.

For the cartridge filters, you usually need a special cap for that housing. You do not have to buy this from the dealer, as plenty of aftermarket options should be available, including from reputable names like Lisle. In some cases, you just need a socket, albeit a special size. For example, the 2.2/2.4 Ecotec cartridge housing uses a 32mm shallow socket. I am not familiar with the Toyota cartridges. Regardless, only torque it to the factory-spec setting. Do NOT overtighten, or else you could break the housing!

I always tighten by hand and can never get them off by hand. Not sure if its the heat or rubber gasket or I need more Wheaties. 99% of the time I need a wrench to get a filter off.

Originally Posted by slacktide_bitog