Recent Topics
Good news for .300blk shooters
by The_Eric - 01/28/20 06:43 PM
‘16 Lexus GS350 vs ‘16 Lexus RX350
by miden851 - 01/28/20 06:19 PM
Stone guard removal
by dawgn86 - 01/28/20 06:09 PM
Craigslist is like a petty HOA now
by eljefino - 01/28/20 05:06 PM
Shoretel PABX - any experience?
by stockrex - 01/28/20 04:44 PM
Around Australia record in the 1970's
by sanoptic - 01/28/20 03:21 PM
Oil mixing...does density matter?
by LotI - 01/28/20 02:02 PM
Uh Oh. Subaru Front Halfshaft CV Going Bad
by ARCOgraphite - 01/28/20 01:25 PM
Help choosing the right oil
by CAJ1966 - 01/28/20 12:33 PM
Which cooler line is return?
by LeakySeals - 01/28/20 11:39 AM
New Havoline ProDS 0w20 boosted Moly?
by jayjr1105 - 01/28/20 10:59 AM
Diesel fuel pump, pump synthetic 40 weight?
by H20ham - 01/28/20 10:54 AM
Review: 2019 VW Passat Wolfsburg 2.0T
by wemay - 01/28/20 10:16 AM
Group 2 mix with Group 4
by ridgerunner - 01/28/20 09:50 AM
Power Steering Fluid for 54 Chevy
by ThomasJ49 - 01/28/20 08:54 AM
Am I killing my transmission?
by Avery4 - 01/28/20 08:52 AM
BorgWarner to buy Delphi in $3.3B deal
by wemay - 01/28/20 08:37 AM
COP's which brand
by Eric Smith - 01/28/20 07:56 AM
$150 off Bridgestone tires
by D1dad - 01/28/20 06:26 AM
Newest Members
Towkid, denor, Jubaxtreme, CAJ1966, Shiza
70550 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
119 registered members (AndyB, 53' Stude, 2015_PSD, Astro_Guy, 2010Civic, 12 invisible), 3,092 guests, and 20 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums67
Topics300,678
Posts5,180,981
Members70,550
Most Online4,538
Jan 20th, 2020
Donate to BITOG
Print Thread
Hop To
Anyone with TP_Link Archer C7 AC1750 Router, How's Your Wifi Range? #5308282 12/30/19 05:02 PM
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 5,086
L
LoneRanger Offline OP
OP Offline
L
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 5,086
I'm looking to add a wifi range extender and have decided to go with TP_Link's One Mesh system, specifically the RE300 AC1200 unit. However in order to work as the seamless One Mesh solution, I'll need to upgrade from my TP_Link C59 AC1350 router to one of the TP_Link routers on their One Mesh compatibility list. I'm looking at the C7 AC1750 (v5.0) unit, it's on the compatibility list and is at the desired price point.


What I need to know is anyone with a C7 are you getting at least -73 dBm signal strength in an indoor distance of about 60 or 70 ft with at least four regular 2x4 and gypsum board interior walls to penetrate. That would be the general path to where I want to RE300 plugged in which should allow it to provide fair signal to the swimming pool. That would put the RE300 about 30' from our pool area with the RE300 high mounted approx 7' up the interior side of exterior wall that faces pool. This wall is standard 2x4 studs with brick veneer on exterior side. House is single level.

There's the plan. If the C7 is powerful enough to get at least -73 dBm signal to the RE300 I should be able to pull off poolside wifi this summer for under $100 total.



'19 F-150 2.7 twin turbo DI V6 .....(Motorcraft synblend 5W30 SN+)
'19 GMC Terrain 1.5 turbo DI I4....(Warren 0W20 1DexosGen2)
'16 Moto Guzzi NTX 1151cc v-twin (Eni 10W60)
Re: Anyone with TP_Link Archer C7 AC1750 Router, How's Your Wifi Range? [Re: LoneRanger] #5308287 12/30/19 05:16 PM
Joined: Jul 2015
Posts: 5,681
M
madRiver Offline
Offline
M
Joined: Jul 2015
Posts: 5,681
Range is decent but the router crashes and locks up with 20 devices. Owned two and never happy with it.

Re: Anyone with TP_Link Archer C7 AC1750 Router, How's Your Wifi Range? [Re: LoneRanger] #5308320 12/30/19 05:52 PM
Joined: Sep 2014
Posts: 598
E
emg Offline
Offline
E
Joined: Sep 2014
Posts: 598
We've had one for a few years with no problems. I can access it from inside my car in the garage, but that's probably only 30-40 feet from the router.

Re: Anyone with TP_Link Archer C7 AC1750 Router, How's Your Wifi Range? [Re: LoneRanger] #5308455 12/30/19 07:27 PM
Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 2,379
M
mk378 Offline
Offline
M
Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 2,379
I have experience with the C7 v4. As far as radio performance goes it's a typical desktop router. It's likely to be slightly better than the C59 but nothing groundbreaking. Do some signal surveys with your C59 and a smartphone with an app like WiFi Analyzer.

The whole point of a mesh network is you can add another node in the middle of a long path and it will automatically start relaying the signal.

Last edited by mk378; 12/30/19 07:29 PM.
Re: Anyone with TP_Link Archer C7 AC1750 Router, How's Your Wifi Range? [Re: LoneRanger] #5309050 12/31/19 10:10 AM
Joined: Jul 2015
Posts: 5,681
M
madRiver Offline
Offline
M
Joined: Jul 2015
Posts: 5,681
Have you tried a speed test near current router and then at the point where you plan on installing the extender? Use your smartphone for this.

There will be a slight upgrade potentially from your current setup with what you propose but not leaps and bounds.

My personal findings is extenders and mesh at least in my 1910 home only work well connected with wires between them. I move off TP Link (except a travel router) and onto Google Wifi and love that. 100-240 Mbps all over my home. My 1 acre lot manages about 20-100 Mbps it seems.


Re: Anyone with TP_Link Archer C7 AC1750 Router, How's Your Wifi Range? [Re: LoneRanger] #5309528 12/31/19 07:10 PM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 23,697
D
Donald Online Content
Online Content
D
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 23,697
Get some Unifi hardware for a good mesh.


2015 Ford F-250 w/Powerstroke
2016 Subaru Crosstrek CVT (wife's)
Re: Anyone with TP_Link Archer C7 AC1750 Router, How's Your Wifi Range? [Re: LoneRanger] #5322220 01/14/20 07:10 AM
Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 3,600
A
alarmguy Offline
Offline
A
Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 3,600
I think you know I have the Archer C7 AC 1750 V2.
I cant answer your question and why the delayed reply.

Different home from yours. All I can say is I LOVE the product, freaking amazing piece of equipment for the price, been up and running for years now and maybe I can count on one hand the number of times I ever had to reset it.
We have a 3000 sq foot home, router is in a central coat closet on the main floor, mounted at the top of the closet, which is also under the second floor staircase. There isnt a place in the house (but will need to verify, its been a while where it is worse then -65) But our home is an open floor plan, central in the house are 16 foot high ceilings so it really opens up the home for signal to get everywhere on the second floor but, think you will admit, having the router under the staircase isnt ideal, yet, having it in the middle of the house is.
I think a BIG factor in good performance is to put ferrite noise filters on ALL lines going into ANY router.

So impressed with this router, just bought an Archer AC1900 A9 for my daughters home as a Christmas present, they couldn't believe the difference in speed from the cheap one they just bought which replaced a netgear that went bad.

Last edited by alarmguy; 01/14/20 07:15 AM.

14 Road King (current)
08 VStar 1300 Tourer
07 Suzuki C50
Re: Anyone with TP_Link Archer C7 AC1750 Router, How's Your Wifi Range? [Re: madRiver] #5331553 01/25/20 05:45 AM
Joined: Oct 2013
Posts: 847
S
Subdued Offline
Offline
S
Joined: Oct 2013
Posts: 847
Originally Posted by madRiver
Range is decent but the router crashes and locks up with 20 devices. Owned two and never happy with it.


I have one, the v4 version, and this is never a problem, and I peak out at about 40 devices. Memory utilization is always low.

I've never used it with stock firmware, though. I bought the router for its OpenWRT support.


2015 Jeep Cherokee 18k
2008 Chrysler Town & Country Touring 149k
2007 Toyota Yaris S 170k

Re: Anyone with TP_Link Archer C7 AC1750 Router, How's Your Wifi Range? [Re: LoneRanger] #5331633 01/25/20 08:10 AM
Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 3,600
A
alarmguy Offline
Offline
A
Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 3,600
^^^ Agree^^ I forgot to mention, and this is just off the top of my head.
We have on our Archer C7 AC 1700 V2 network;

7 Roku players
2 laptops
2 tablets
2 desktops
1 Workstation computer** (see note below)
1 Printer
2 cell phones
1 Channel Master DVR
3 Outdoor Security Cameras
1 Indoor Security Camera
1 Doorbell Camera
Telephone interface* (see note below)

*Ooma Telephone Interface Plugged into the port on the router
**Cisco Router for my wifes workstation computer AND her company telephone interface in her office plugged into a power line adapter terminating into the back of the C7 router. The Cisco router is a company provided router/VPN and only used for the workstation computer but again plugged into the back of the C7.

We also on occasion connect our TVs and Xbox just for firmware updates but never leave them connected.

Gosh, I type this post and think, my god, it amazes me and NEVER a hiccup on our wifi.internet system. But I will admit, I have had this router for YEARS now, love it but since getting my daughter the newer one (posted 2 posts above this one) I may replace it, when our local electric utility finally gets fiber into our area, they are about 1 year behind, right now we have Spectrum 100 which is great/rock solid but they have become whores endlessly raising the price, our electric utility is 40% cheaper and up to tens times faster on the upload.

Last edited by alarmguy; 01/25/20 08:17 AM.

14 Road King (current)
08 VStar 1300 Tourer
07 Suzuki C50
Re: Anyone with TP_Link Archer C7 AC1750 Router, How's Your Wifi Range? [Re: LoneRanger] #5333447 01/27/20 08:25 AM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 6,265
blupupher Offline
Offline
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 6,265
I bought one for my mom's 800 sq ft apartment and used it for about a month, kept having connection issues and low speeds issues even over short distances.
It was a referb unit though, so maybe that was the issue? Not sure which version it was either.
Also be aware I heard that there are 2 different versions of this router, one that is Alexa compatible and one that is not. The Alexa one can't be flashed to DD-WRT/OpenWRT if that is something you want to do.
Again, not positive on this, but need to look into if you plan on buying and flashing to open source.

I also tried a D-Link AC1700 with similar issues as the TP-Link (poor distance and slow speeds) as well as frequent disconnects and needing resets.

I ended up with a Netgear Nighthawk R6700 (AC1750) that has great coverage and getting full speeds (110Mbps). Had it for 2 months without a single reset or connection issue.
Only complaint about it is that it does not allow the same SSID on the 2.4 and 5 ghz channels.


'18 Santa Fe: PP 10W-30/OEM
'18 Soul: Synpower 5W-30/PG
'10 Santa Fe: Synpower 5w-30/D+
'04 F150: Magnatec 10w-30/ST
'12 xB: M1EP 0W-20/CQ Blue
'02 F150: Magnatec 5W-20/D+
'94 VT1100: Peak 15W-40/D+
Re: Anyone with TP_Link Archer C7 AC1750 Router, How's Your Wifi Range? [Re: LoneRanger] #5333530 01/27/20 10:03 AM
Joined: Aug 2018
Posts: 431
J
jayjr1105 Offline
Offline
J
Joined: Aug 2018
Posts: 431
Had an Archer C7 years ago then stepped it up to a dedicated firewall (edgerouter) and dedicated AP (unifi AC Pro). These are not beginner pieces of equipment but I've not experienced a WiFi hiccup in 2 years. In my field we consider wireless routers than look like space ships and are plastic to be total junk.

My professional IT recommendation for a good router/wireless is the Ubiquiti Amplifi kit (3 piece kit). Some of the other ones like Eero, or Orbi may be decent but I don't have first hand experience with them.

Last edited by jayjr1105; 01/27/20 10:05 AM.

2013 Mazda 3 - PP 0w20
2005 Honda Odyssey - PP HM 5w20
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

BOB IS THE OIL GUY® Powered by UBB.threads™