Not open for further replies.
I was a VW mechanic back in the ‘70s.

Enjoyed:
Learning how things worked; sharpened my analytical skills
Satisfaction from fixing things; job was consequential
Getting to drive lots of different cars
Working around other ‘car guys'
Getting to use a rack to work on my own car after work
Working for ‘old school' German mechanics that taught me important mechanical skills

Things I disliked:
Crappy pay
Cold in the winter, hot in the summer shop
Noisy environment, sometimes high CO concentrations
Having to buy more and more expensive tools to keep up with the job
Being dirty most of the time
Low status
Working for very demanding German mechanics

What do you think of your occupation?

[Linked Image]

I work in IT Infrastructure at a small/midsized company.

- Flexible schedule and work from home days
- The pay is really good
- All the different directions I can go with my career. IT has TONS of different career paths

Dislikes:
- Its really stressful sometimes, the busnesses IT infrastructure up time rests on my shoulders
- Working for a SMB and wearing many hats can lead to long hours. I'm salary so doesn't matter if I work 30 or 80 hours a week, same pay
- The work can become repetitive and boring if I don't search out things to do or teach myself something.

All in all a good career to have, could be worse! My real interest is in aviation electronics, however its hard to beat the pay and flexibility of my current role.

I got out of automotive about 6 years ago, I now work on transit buses. Much better over all. I should have taken everyone's advice from the beginning and went into trucking or diesels