85w90 vs 75w90

Status
Not open for further replies.
This is for front/rear differential for 2000 ml55 amg mercede. Can I use Amsoil 80w90 for front and rear or get 75w90 Amsoil? I know Motul gear 300 is 75w85 is good for rear. But idk.

I believe front called for: 85w90

And

Rear: 75w85

I'm having hard time choosing what brand of fluids should I go with. Money is not the issue since I only needed total of 3 qts for F/R.

I'm guessing it specs the same 235.0 85w90 as my clk430 of that generation, if that's the case you can get the liqui moly 235.0 85w90 as speced and approved by MBZ pretty cheaply on Amazon. It's what I've been using for many years and it has served me well.

75w85 is the superseded spec for fuel economy and to standardize with the new cars, but really you just need (and probably want) the stuff they originally called for in those diffs when the ML was new

Originally Posted by aquariuscsm
Use Amsoil Severe Gear 75W110.

I agree. 110 is what the old 90 was.

Originally Posted by Rohan
This is for front/rear differential for 2000 ml55 amg mercede. Can I use Amsoil 80w90 for front and rear or get 75w90 Amsoil? I know Motul gear 300 is 75w85 is good for rear. But idk.

I believe front called for: 85w90

And

Rear: 75w85

I'm having hard time choosing what brand of fluids should I go with. Money is not the issue since I only needed total of 3 qts for F/R.

If the gear oil meets the proper GL specs for the vehicle you can use what you want to use.

Originally Posted by Gebo
Originally Posted by aquariuscsm
Use Amsoil Severe Gear 75W110.

I agree. 110 is what the old 90 was.

Do we know what the viscosity of the factory fill was?

I don't know what was factory fill was but only thing I know is front called for 85w90 and 75w85 for rear. I cannot find those number except liquid moly 85w90 and 75w85 on Motul 300.