Recent Topics
Cam2 CVT fluid is green, and so is Transtar
by slacktide_bitog - 12/06/19 06:59 PM
Rotating Directional Tires for Dry Conditions
by CharlieBauer - 12/06/19 03:42 PM
Review: My 2011 Prius turned 200K
by The Critic - 12/06/19 03:29 PM
NIB sggcx2 dash cam
by BeerCan - 12/06/19 02:57 PM
Mazda FL22 alternative?
by jayjr1105 - 12/06/19 01:57 PM
Tips for sealing radiator hose
by Parlay_Slow - 12/06/19 01:51 PM
Valvoline
by Koncrete_Cam - 12/06/19 01:32 PM
At home tire rotation protocol question
by NissanMaxima - 12/06/19 12:57 PM
Base oil different in 0W vs 5W?
by doyall - 12/06/19 12:54 PM
Five Gees
by Y_K - 12/06/19 12:31 PM
Valvoline Dex/Merc Label
by 28oz - 12/06/19 12:23 PM
Storing a vehicle- advice please!
by Rolla07 - 12/06/19 11:53 AM
1964 Cub Cadet 100
by Phishin - 12/06/19 11:40 AM
2001 Volvo V70XC 6140 Miles Mobil1 10w-30 HM
by Astro_Guy - 12/06/19 11:22 AM
Blend door motor reset
by otis24 - 12/06/19 11:08 AM
My 68 L36
by JeffKeryk - 12/06/19 10:45 AM
2016 Accord 11,513 Miles Mobil1 5w-30 EP
by Astro_Guy - 12/06/19 10:15 AM
Newest Members
BajaBu, Bayoubrad, Fog42, glassmaker, PontiacHO
70052 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
91 registered members (alphadog, 4WD, BAJA_05, BeerCan, Audios, 7 invisible), 2,160 guests, and 56 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums67
Topics298,383
Posts5,134,210
Members70,052
Most Online3,589
Nov 2nd, 2019
Donate to BITOG
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
Anyone uses the Havoline Smart Change 6qt Box?? #5281120 11/30/19 01:12 PM
Joined: Nov 2019
Posts: 10
E
Edoccar Offline OP
OP Offline
E
Joined: Nov 2019
Posts: 10
I go through A LOT of those boxes and I've noticed that the bag inside the box never has the full 6 quarts.
I use a separate marked bottle that can take up to 7 quarts so I know exactly how much I'm filling on the car and even though they advertise it as 6qt, all I get every time is around 5.3 to 5.7 quarts.
I dunno about you guys but that .3 to .7 quarts is a lot when you add it up.
Anyone else having the same issues? I honestly expected more from chevron...

With the amount that I go through, I think I might even talk to them about some kind of compensation...

Let me know what you guys think.

Re: Anyone uses the Havoline Smart Change 6qt Box?? [Re: Edoccar] #5281126 11/30/19 01:14 PM
Joined: Aug 2018
Posts: 857
RDY4WAR Offline
Offline
Joined: Aug 2018
Posts: 857
I've done a few changes with the Havoline boxes and it's been roght at 6 quarts each time.


"He who is without oil, shall throw the first rod." - Compressions 9:1
Re: Anyone uses the Havoline Smart Change 6qt Box?? [Re: RDY4WAR] #5281139 11/30/19 01:26 PM
Joined: Nov 2019
Posts: 10
E
Edoccar Offline OP
OP Offline
E
Joined: Nov 2019
Posts: 10
do you get yours from walmart?

Re: Anyone uses the Havoline Smart Change 6qt Box?? [Re: Edoccar] #5281142 11/30/19 01:27 PM
Joined: Mar 2017
Posts: 11,673
PimTac Offline
Offline
Joined: Mar 2017
Posts: 11,673
That’s a pretty serious charge you are presenting. Being this is your “first post “ here , one wonders what is your agenda.


A number of members here have used the Havoline Smart Box. Not one has complained about being shorted on the product.


2017 Mazda CX5
Havoline Pro DS 0w20
Roki OEM filter.
Re: Anyone uses the Havoline Smart Change 6qt Box?? [Re: Edoccar] #5281144 11/30/19 01:32 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 6,125
Bryanccfshr Offline
Offline
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 6,125
I have done a couple of changes with them. Works perfect no reason to believe I got less than 6 quarts as my 6.2 quart oil change Toyota’s were filled up to the full mark with the box.


2018 Trd Pro 4Runner
2018 Tacoma off-road

Dealer 0w20 to M1 0w40 FS -it depends
Re: Anyone uses the Havoline Smart Change 6qt Box?? [Re: Edoccar] #5281158 11/30/19 01:43 PM
Joined: Sep 2019
Posts: 114
O
OilReport99 Offline
Offline
O
Joined: Sep 2019
Posts: 114
6 quarts, Edoccar.


2018 Ram 1500 5.7 17k - VME 5W-20
2018 Camry 2.5 13K - TGMO 0W-16
2007 Impala 3.5 145k - M1EP 5W-30
Re: Anyone uses the Havoline Smart Change 6qt Box?? [Re: Edoccar] #5281161 11/30/19 01:51 PM
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 12,862
K
kschachn Offline
Offline
K
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 12,862
Originally Posted by Edoccar
With the amount that I go through, I think I might even talk to them about some kind of compensation...

Let me know what you guys think.

I would suggest that if you truly believe they have been shorting you then you should definitely contact them for compensation.


1994 BMW 530i, 251K
1996 Honda Accord, 280K
1999 Toyota Sienna, 428K
2000 Toyota ECHO, 284K
Re: Anyone uses the Havoline Smart Change 6qt Box?? [Re: Edoccar] #5281165 11/30/19 01:51 PM
Joined: Apr 2016
Posts: 536
1
1978elcamino Offline
Offline
1
Joined: Apr 2016
Posts: 536
My vehicle takes 5.8 qts, since I dump the entire box in I have never really measured, just assumed it was a full 6qts. However, if your claim is correct that is false advertising on Havoline's part, anyone can and will jump on that class action.


2018 F150 5.0
2016 Ford Fusion 2.5
Re: Anyone uses the Havoline Smart Change 6qt Box?? [Re: PimTac] #5281167 11/30/19 01:52 PM
Joined: Nov 2019
Posts: 10
E
Edoccar Offline OP
OP Offline
E
Joined: Nov 2019
Posts: 10
no agenda, just wondering what everyone's results are

Re: Anyone uses the Havoline Smart Change 6qt Box?? [Re: 1978elcamino] #5281169 11/30/19 01:53 PM
Joined: Nov 2019
Posts: 10
E
Edoccar Offline OP
OP Offline
E
Joined: Nov 2019
Posts: 10
thank you! finally someone that understand what my concern is!! I would just check it the next time you use it. A measuring bottle should do the trick if you have one laying around

Last edited by Edoccar; 11/30/19 01:54 PM.
Re: Anyone uses the Havoline Smart Change 6qt Box?? [Re: OilReport99] #5281173 11/30/19 01:55 PM
Joined: Nov 2019
Posts: 10
E
Edoccar Offline OP
OP Offline
E
Joined: Nov 2019
Posts: 10
Just out of curiosity, do you measure it every time you use it? or just dump and call it a day

Re: Anyone uses the Havoline Smart Change 6qt Box?? [Re: Edoccar] #5281178 11/30/19 01:58 PM
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,598
B
Black_Thunder Offline
Offline
B
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,598
what kind of marked bottle do you have that holds 7 quarts?

there's a possibility that it might be inaccurate.


not saying you aren't wrong.

I think a more accurate way to check this would be to get a box of oil and fill 6 one quart bottles evenly and see if they are all filled up to where they are generally considered full.



Next time around when my brother changes oil on his truck that takes exactly 6 quarts we will see if it is at the proper full mark. the last few times we put Castrol Magnatec in it using a 5 quart jug and then one single quart bottle.

next time its slated for the 6 quart box of havoline, I'm curious to see how it pours etc.


I'd buy Callahan autoparts if I could.
Re: Anyone uses the Havoline Smart Change 6qt Box?? [Re: Black_Thunder] #5281189 11/30/19 02:14 PM
Joined: Nov 2019
Posts: 10
E
Edoccar Offline OP
OP Offline
E
Joined: Nov 2019
Posts: 10
Originally Posted by Black_Thunder
what kind of marked bottle do you have that holds 7 quarts?

there's a possibility that it might be inaccurate.


not saying you aren't wrong.

I think a more accurate way to check this would be to get a box of oil and fill 6 one quart bottles evenly and see if they are all filled up to where they are generally considered full.



Next time around when my brother changes oil on his truck that takes exactly 6 quarts we will see if it is at the proper full mark. the last few times we put Castrol Magnatec in it using a 5 quart jug and then one single quart bottle.

next time its slated for the 6 quart box of havoline, I'm curious to see how it pours etc.


7 quarts is a typo, it's actually 6 quarts.

The bottle looks like this:
[img]https://imgur.com/fNMLxLn[/img]

Re: Anyone uses the Havoline Smart Change 6qt Box?? [Re: Edoccar] #5281190 11/30/19 02:14 PM
Joined: Mar 2016
Posts: 1,390
C
CharlieBauer Online Content
Online Content
C
Joined: Mar 2016
Posts: 1,390
Once would be understandable but unless all your boxes came from the same batch, having a shortage every time suggests you're measuring wrong.


It ain't what you don't know that gets you into trouble. It's what you know for sure that ain't so.

- mistakenly attributed to Mark Twain
Re: Anyone uses the Havoline Smart Change 6qt Box?? [Re: CharlieBauer] #5281194 11/30/19 02:16 PM
Joined: Nov 2019
Posts: 10
E
Edoccar Offline OP
OP Offline
E
Joined: Nov 2019
Posts: 10
Originally Posted by CharlieBauer
Once would be understandable but unless all your boxes came from the same batch, having a shortage every time suggests you're measuring wrong.


I wouldn't be surprised if they come from the same batch. Like I mentioned, I go through many of them

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

BOB IS THE OIL GUY® Powered by UBB.threads™