Engine RPM’s while passing

Status
Not open for further replies.
Usually 3k as that is what it cruises at, and most of my passing is done on the highway (a 5S-FE isn't capable of passing on 2 lane road). Acceleration usually involves sweeping past 5k and sometimes hitting 6k to wring out what it doesn't have.

My Acura in signature -- automatic drops down a gear and revs immediately to 3000-4500 rpms -- if not more. Depends how hard I stand on it and how long. I normally just putt putt my Subaru and Ram around city driving and back roads. The Acura goes on road trips for reason.

Last edited:
Wife's Audi is a stick, has a 2.0 turbo and sees 6500 rpm everytime I drive it. The fed tune VAG 2.0 turbos with a stick pull beyond the redline. My Elanta has a 1.6 turbo and I take it a little over 6 all the time. RPM doesn't bother me. When I was a mechanic at a Honda dealer, I liked when I got a chance to drive a Civic Si and pull it to 8K RPM.

I didn't have the turbo-four BMW 328i long enough to recall exactly. Seems to me I used to hit about 4500 rpm in passing. About the same in the N/A four in the 2011 Regal.

With the '16 Buick LaCrosse, I think it runs up toward 3500 -- the car is still new to me, and my attention has been on the visual representation of the tach shown in the Head-up display rather than the number in the tach itself.

The wife and I are riding up the coast. Yesterday I was on the '20 S 1000 RR M, and briefly saw the rev-limiter in an effort to keep up with the wife on the old, heavily modded 'Busa. So about 14.6k RPM. This wasn't really a pass, as we were just testing roll-on performance between the two bikes, on a section of road with no other traffic.