Amsoil 5W30 Signature Series vs Mobil 1 Turbo Diesel Truck 5W40

Status
Not open for further replies.
"Im not an expert and this is just one UOA"

Then you have Blackstone theories and conclusions about 5w40s being superior to 30ws in iron wear...

Running TDT in a gasser v6....Considering potential return policies as a factor for choosing an oil in case you change your mind...

Where to start? This thread is a mess and your logic and conclusions are flawed.

Run another UOA with 5w30 SuperTech and look at the results. I would bet it's almost exactly the same. You're dealing with parts per MILLION and nobody learned anything from this data, including you.

Originally Posted by buster
The fact that someone from Amsoil said that is baffling.

Lawyers call that hearsay and it is not admissible nor credible.

Need lots of 🧂 🧂🧂.

I have already pointed out earlier in the thread all the possible flaws I can think of at the time of posting. This obviously isnt a scientific based thread, but none of us here to include myself have the budget, ability, time and/or motivation to conduct an exacting scientific analysis. I am not going to tear down the engine on my vehicles or any of that to figure out which oil is best.

I will trust what both Blackstone and Amsoil posted. Blackstone had some data they collected from their analysis of various oils. Amsoil concurred in stating that to dominate a wear test just use a different viscosity. I am trusting Blackstone and Amsoil are experts in their field. As Ive stated I have no ability to refute or confirm their data.

What I can say 100% is Mobils 5W40 both the TDT and Delvac seem to run great in my vehicles. The owners manual says you cant use oils outside of their guidelines, but in any event its right there in my crankcase and works great.