AGM vs Traditional Battery

Status
Not open for further replies.
My 2013 Mazda 3 has the original Panasonic AGM battery and it's probably not going to last this winter. Should I stick with AGM or can I get a ~$100 Lead Acid? South central PA.

Charge it up and give it a load test. The AGM battery in my Mercedes is coming up on 12 years. But they put that one in the trunk and it's an H8 so it's a big battery. I'd say if you can get the test to be within 80% of the original CCA, then it's still good and to keep it.

You may not have a choice. I have been pricing a new battery for a 2017 Elantra. Wal-Mart, Auto Zone, Advance, and Dealership show AGM as the only choice.

If an AGM was specified by the OEM, you're better off sticking with it.

That said, 6 years old for an AGM that's been cared for isn't that old. Test it before spending the $$ to replace it.

Originally Posted by MONKEYMAN
You may not have a choice. I have been pricing a new battery for a 2017 Elantra. Wal-Mart, Auto Zone, Advance, and Dealership show AGM as the only choice.

You can put a non-AGM, Group 48 battery in that if you chose to. The OP's car uses a Group 35 battery. Certainly doesn't need to be AGM.

I just put a new AGM battery in my wife's 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. It was not an option to get a less expensive battery. It is mounted under the passenger front