HEPA Filters

Status
Not open for further replies.
I've been running a couple of HEPA filters in my house for a several years, one on each floor. They seem to do an efficient job judging by the dirt that accumulates on the prefilters. Filters are expensive for these and they use plenty of electricity.

Would I be just as well off buying high end furnace filters and running the fans?

Anybody else use HEPAs?

[Linked Image]

They shouldn't use that much electricity. It is just a fan going through a filter.

I wouldn't use my house furnace and ducting as an air cleaner, but a high merv filter that doesnt cause too big a pressure drop is always a good idea.

I stopped buying air filters that use proprietary media and instead use high merv furnace filters on a box fans.

Doenst look as pretty for sure but a Dylos particle counter didnt see the difference between this and my blueair 650 E

I'm filtering a construction area here - but you get the idea......

[Linked Image]

I used the exact same box fan and furnace filter set up a few years back when doing some remodeling. It sure did collect a lot of sheet rock dust.

I have the same (or similar) filter as the OP. We ran it for years without having to replace the filter. I vacuumed the pre-filter media and media with a handheld vac (dyson) with a washable filter. This worked for several years.

For S&G's, I just replaced the larger filter with a new aftermarket one and can't tell the difference in sound or air-flow.

We only run a filter in our bedroom, because we have pretty bad seasonal allergies and wanted to have one "clean" space. We open the windows throughout the rest of the house during cool/warm days, but leave our bedroom shut-up. Seems to work. I start to cough when I come out of the room for the first hour or so, until my antihistamine kicks in or I get used to the allergens.

//