Are you a collector of anything?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Possibly tools but since I was a technician for a living for many years, I can justify those as work related.

Guns, maybe but most I own are ones I actually use for recreational shooting or hunting.

So that leaves old Spider-Man comic books. I buy those for no reason other than collecting. I don't even think I'll make money off of the valuable ones I own as I'll never sell them. My wife or kids will likely give them away at a yard sale after I die.

guns and speakers...

I won't share how many guns I have, but if I count individual speaker drivers I have around 80 drivers in my listening room, and well into the 100's if I count all the drivers in my house ;-)

Antique radios, about 15 of them. Oldest is a 1921 Westinghouse Aeriola Senior. My favorite is my 1936 Zenith 10S153 console. Zenith made some very impressive console radios in the 1930s, and while this isn't one of the fancier ones it's still a well built and good sounding radio. Most of my collection have worked since I've owned them, although there are a few that I know need some repairs first. Some of the working ones have stopped working and need some more repairs. Strangely, most of the repairs are having to replace aging components like capacitors and resistors, wires that have lost their insulation, contacts that need cleaning, and an output transformer that failed. I don't think I've had a tube burn out yet on any of them (knock on wood).

Not into collecting anything. Have more than enough of everything I need.

Records. I have several thousand pieces. All mid to late 1960s garage/psych rock. All original pressings. Lps and 45s.

+1s to Dave, Chris, and aquariuscsm!

I collect old oil signs. Unfortunately, the AUTHENTIC ones cost a fortune.

Originally Posted by dkryan
I collect old oil signs. Unfortunately, the AUTHENTIC ones cost a fortune.