What Do You Do For A Living?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I run a private hedge fund, aggressively conservative, stocks and options. I do everything else on the side, handyman, carpentry, plumbing, electrical, painting, tile, sheetrock, ...

I am a internet data mining engineer. I glean data like this and tie it to actual people. I sell the results to tech companies looking for such data.

Originally Posted by GoldDot40
Originally Posted by Ursatdx
I own/operate a "Quick Lube".
35 years in the business.
21 years at current location.

I did that as well. Started off at a dealership, then worked for an independent shop. You remember QLube? Worked for them until the Pennzoil-Quakerstate merger in turn QLube was absorbed by Jiffy Lube. Left them to manage a Texaco Xpress Lube, then back to another independent...then decided to get into trucking. About 14 years total in the quick lube business.

Hmmm, back about twenty some years ago I used to work close by a QLube in Marietta, GA. Never used them since I like to change the oil myself. You brought some memories...

Now I am an expediter, which is a glorified truck driver. I drive a straight truck all over the US, transporting stuff that needs to be there yesterday, from auto parts, to electric motors, to airplane tires, to jet engines. I basically come in to save the day when "next day delivery" is just not fast enough. Once I had to expedite a $75,000.00 diamond ring from Atlanta to a CEO in Memphis. All I could hope was that she said "Yes."

I'm retired now, but before that I worked in IT for 40 years. Started out in 1967 as a programmer on IBM mainframes. Ten years later I switched over to Systems Programmer on VSE and MVS systems.
The last 12 years I was a UNIX systems administrator.