Recent Topics
Deleted vs Non-Deleted UOA
by oakaro68 - 10/18/19 05:30 AM
3.2 V6 Cayenne oil help
by Abax25 - 10/18/19 04:16 AM
Can cops sit in the median with no lights on at night time?
by motor_oil_madman - 10/18/19 12:24 AM
2012-2014 Lexus GS350 AWD Reliability?
by GZRider - 10/17/19 10:28 PM
Switch to High Mileage Oil or No?
by Blake1107 - 10/17/19 10:21 PM
Found this funny
by taztheman - 10/17/19 10:04 PM
How much gas to start a 3L or larger engine?
by paulri - 10/17/19 09:54 PM
Syneresis, learned a new word today!
by Cujet - 10/17/19 09:28 PM
What is more important in an oil?
by Rglossip - 10/17/19 08:03 PM
Chevy 2.4 Oil Burner Oil/Filter Change?
by GaryPoe - 10/17/19 07:57 PM
2016 F150 2.7 UOA 4k
by tomcruise - 10/17/19 07:13 PM
Mobil1 5W-30, 8,200mi, 2017 Expl 2.3EBBB
by Whimsey - 10/17/19 07:01 PM
How To Avoid Deer?
by Passport1 - 10/17/19 06:41 PM
Mazda6 P0401 code
by miden851 - 10/17/19 06:15 PM
2004 Crown Vic shock/ struts recommendation
by umungus1122 - 10/17/19 06:12 PM
Undercarriage pics of my 2003 E46 330Ci ZSP
by SLO_Town - 10/17/19 06:11 PM
Porter Cable air compressor not shutting off
by JLawrence08648 - 10/17/19 06:06 PM
OCI older car, modern oil
by VQLT - 10/17/19 05:24 PM
Newest Members
jmichels, Collins92, Paul_Millner, kelsdawnj, Emtp1990
69591 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
44 registered members (Abax25, Bailes1992, AlienBug, billt460, Amkeer, bbhero, 1 invisible), 875 guests, and 24 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums67
Topics296,125
Posts5,091,607
Members69,591
Most Online3,532
Jul 30th, 2019
Donate to BITOG
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Do you have tpms on your winter wheels? #5234151 10/08/19 06:16 PM
Joined: Nov 2013
Posts: 440
C
Corollaman Offline OP
OP Offline
C
Joined: Nov 2013
Posts: 440
I've got two vehicles that I don't have tpms for my winter wheels (corolla, silverado). I end up staring at the tpms light until spring at first it was annoying but I got used to it. I check my tire pressures on a regular basis and just couldn't justify the added cost.

Re: Do you have tpms on your winter wheels? [Re: Corollaman] #5234156 10/08/19 06:19 PM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 38,124
Q
Quattro Pete Offline
Offline
Q
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 38,124
Thankfully TPMS on wife's Q5 works without any physical hardware, so swapping winter wheels causes no issues.



2002 530i   2015 Q5 3.0T   2018 Charger SRT
Re: Do you have tpms on your winter wheels? [Re: Corollaman] #5234159 10/08/19 06:24 PM
Joined: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,609
A
atikovi Offline
Offline
A
Joined: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,609
Originally Posted by Corollaman
I check my tire pressures on a regular basis and just couldn't justify the added cost.


That's not the primary reason for tpms. A warning from picking up a nail and dropping a psi every 10 minutes could prevent a side of the road tire change.

Re: Do you have tpms on your winter wheels? [Re: Corollaman] #5234162 10/08/19 06:26 PM
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 1,289
T
Traction Offline
Offline
T
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 1,289
Nope, just electrical tape, and keeping an eye on them. Some vehicles disable systems without it though, like Honda for one.


Certified Tire Service Instructor since 2009
50 Chevy Fire Truck
13 Tahoe Pursuit
97 C5 Corvette
00 BMW M Roadster
02 Camry
12 Camry
81 Camaro
55 Chevy C4
Re: Do you have tpms on your winter wheels? [Re: Corollaman] #5234165 10/08/19 06:29 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 14,062
R
Rand Offline
Offline
R
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 14,062
I never did previously to my Jeep(in 5 sets), but the jeep system is really nice and it was $100 and no tpms registering shenanigans so I did it.

Its getting harder to not get tpms at discount tire, DTD, and tirerack.. if you order shipped and mounted/balanced on new wheels tirerack makes you buy them.
Which negates the major tirerack advantage.. free hunter roadforce balancing on wheel/tire sets.


2019 Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk 2.0T
2020 Hyundai Elantra "Value Edition"
Re: Do you have tpms on your winter wheels? [Re: Quattro Pete] #5234176 10/08/19 06:41 PM
Joined: Sep 2019
Posts: 219
L
Lowflyer Offline
Offline
L
Joined: Sep 2019
Posts: 219
Originally Posted by Quattro Pete
Thankfully TPMS on wife's Q5 works without any physical hardware [...]
Yep. One of a few things than VAG do right.
Up to now...

Re: Do you have tpms on your winter wheels? [Re: Corollaman] #5234281 10/08/19 08:37 PM
Joined: Jan 2019
Posts: 67
M
Macsignals Offline
Offline
M
Joined: Jan 2019
Posts: 67
I installed the sensors on the winter wheels for my old Ram... But two were DOA from the factory and I didn't feel like breaking the tires back down so I just stared at the light all winter and kept an eye on them manually. The GMC in my signature I have working sensors in those wheels but I could live without, GM just makes it too easy to reprogram and sync the sensors.


-Ian A.
Mine:
2016 GMC Sierra 1500, L83 5.3L V8. Shell RGT 0w20, Bosch 3502 oil filter. Daily driver.
1992 Dodge Dakota, 3.9L V6. Delvac 10W30, Napa Silver filter. Out of service for restore.
Re: Do you have tpms on your winter wheels? [Re: Corollaman] #5234288 10/08/19 08:43 PM
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 42
V
va2001ss Online Content
Online Content
V
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 42
I am running TPMS on both the Tahoe and Malibu winter sets, they are both very easy to reprogram.

Last edited by va2001ss; 10/08/19 08:45 PM.

2018 Chevrolet Malibu 2.0T LTG
2013 Chevrolet Tahoe 5.3 LMG
Re: Do you have tpms on your winter wheels? [Re: Corollaman] #5234301 10/08/19 08:56 PM
Joined: Dec 2017
Posts: 5,010
S
Snagglefoot Online Content
Online Content
S
Joined: Dec 2017
Posts: 5,010
Yes, but mainly because I bought new alloy rims and tires. The TPMS units I obtained from Amazon.ca and the guys at Canadian Tire installed them on the new rims and used their programmer without much difficulty. One seemed to go haywire until I took the summer tires (with TPMS) that were in the back of the Burb and put them away. TPMS is an issue that get hashed over numerous times on this blog so I'll just not comment on that part of the discussion. smile


If you want the job done right......do it yourself.
Re: Do you have tpms on your winter wheels? [Re: Corollaman] #5234325 10/08/19 09:25 PM
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 2,580
U
UG_Passat Offline
Offline
U
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 2,580
On my old car with direct sensors, yes. So I don't have to stare at the idiot light.

Current car.. ABS-based.


2016 VW Tiguan|APR Stage 1|Neuspeed P-Flo|Osram CBI|Redline 5w30
Re: Do you have tpms on your winter wheels? [Re: Corollaman] #5234334 10/08/19 09:36 PM
Joined: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,270
B
BHopkins Offline
Offline
B
Joined: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,270
My wife's Outback: Yes. Put them in when I first had winter tires mounted.
My SL550: No. Although I may put them in this winter. Someone recently posted a source for pre-programmed TPMS sensors for less than $20 each. I'm not familiar with the brand, but at that price, I'm willing to take a chance.


In God we trust. All others bring data.

2013 Subaru Outback 2.5i - M1 HM 0W-20 & NAPA Gold filter
2007 Mercedes SL550 - M1 0W-40 European Formula & Mann filter
Re: Do you have tpms on your winter wheels? [Re: Corollaman] #5234338 10/08/19 09:41 PM
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 804
E
E365 Offline
Offline
E
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 804
Yes


Whatever's on sale...
Re: Do you have tpms on your winter wheels? [Re: Corollaman] #5234347 10/08/19 09:51 PM
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 899
A
antonmnster Offline
Offline
A
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 899
Nope. And now it doesn't seem like my TPMS receivers work anymore, so the light is on all year round. I check my pressures the old fashioned way every week or two.


2007 BMW 335i n54 210,000 miles, lubricated by whatever is on sale
Re: Do you have tpms on your winter wheels? [Re: Corollaman] #5234351 10/08/19 09:59 PM
Joined: Jun 2019
Posts: 426
F
Fawteen Offline
Offline
F
Joined: Jun 2019
Posts: 426
What is this winter thing you speak of? Same tires all year 'round on all 4 vehicles.


2014 Silverado
2014 Equinox
1972 Olds 442 Convertible
1918 Model T
Re: Do you have tpms on your winter wheels? [Re: Corollaman] #5234364 10/08/19 10:17 PM
Joined: Sep 2002
Posts: 4,530
M
MNgopher Offline
Offline
M
Joined: Sep 2002
Posts: 4,530
Yes, I have TPMS installed on both our vehicles snow tire sets.

The Explorer was an extra $100 at purchase for an aftermarket set of TPMS on aftermarket wheels, mounted by DTD. A $15 OEM tool and I can swap them on and off at my leisure.

The F150 was $65 for a set of OEM TPMS sensors, no additional charge when they were mounted, and the truck picks up the sensors automatically. Not putting them in meant an idiot dinger and message on the dash about every 10 minutes.

Page 1 of 2 1 2
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

BOB IS THE OIL GUY® Powered by UBB.threads™