Question regarding cci big 4

Status
Not open for further replies.
Can one safely shoot cci big 4 38spl/357 mag from a s&w model 36? Yes, I know it's a 38 special gun, but it's special only. If I don't ask I won't know, and I haven't come across an answer in my research.

81 grains at 1000 FPS isn't going to stress a .38 SPL.

220 ftlbs ME is less than most .38 SPL.

That help?

Red 91 I use a lot of Winchester primers in my guns. Their pistol primers are made for both regular and magnum handguns Those primers will work just fine for you.
[Linked Image]

Last edited:
What are primers? I'm sorry, I'm new to centerfire ammo. I've gained decent experience with my 22's. I'm guessing those primers are some kind of shot round?

Originally Posted by Red91
What are primers? I'm sorry, I'm new to centerfire ammo. I've gained decent experience with my 22's. I'm guessing those primers are some kind of shot round?

But LOL how long have you been shooting? Its now very clear You've never reloaded which was my first incorrect assumption.

Oh then you can't shoot .357 ammo from this gun they are going to probably not be able to close the cylinder.

Last edited:

Primers are what the firing pin strikes to ignite the powder. You would only buy separate primers if you reload. Not sure how primers are relevant to this thread.

FWIW, related to the shot shell - I do not think CCI would label a round 38 SPL if it wasn't suitable for a 38 only firearm...

http://www.cci-ammunition.com/products/detail.aspx?loadNo=3714CC

Last edited:
I wondered if the primer answer was for some other thread...
those big4 shot loads are fine in 38 Spl handguns, and the cases are NOT reloadable.