dirt bike novice

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm 44 and have been riding since I got my permit at age 14, so I'm not new to motorcycles. However, I have little experience on dirt bikes...most of it was when I was a kid. My 9 yo son now has a dirt bike and is loving it, so I picked up a TT-R230 so we could ride together. What's your best piece of advice for an experienced street rider looking to get into trail riding?

You picked a good bike to learn on. They are forgiving and easy to ride/maintain.

Few things:

- Be prepared to fall/crash. It's going to happen for a number of reasons (weather conditions, variety of terrain, plain old inexperience). It happens to everyone.

- Take advantage of standing. If you see rough terrain coming up, stand. If you see a drop in elevation, stand.

- Ride with more experienced riders if you can. My cousin and I grew up on dirt bikes in the woods and the biggest thing that helped us get better was riding with better riders. Watch the way they tackle certain terrain situations and copy them.

- Watch YouTube videos of GNCC races and other off road events. Take note of how those riders ride. When they accelerate, brake, sit, stand, etc. It will help you.

Wear Gear! - Helmet, Gloves, Boots, Knee Guards and reinforced pants (Not jeans) would be my minimum. Its not a chance of if... its a chance of when.

Set up ergonomics - Set the suspension sag set, angle the handlebars forward, levers down.

Practice balance - Standing on the pegs. Dont forget there is Side to Side balance & there is forward and backward balance. Your body weight may be more than the bike weighs and plays a significant factor in how the bike responds on the trails.

Those 230's are great bikes! - I started riding at 8 years old with my old man on his RT-180. These were some of the best days of my childhood.

My last dirt bike was a CRF450, previous to that a KTM300 and previous to that was a CR250.