Sure you could use anti-seize on your studs, but???

Status
Not open for further replies.
Obligatory Old guy 'splain. I used chassis lube for 20 yrs on BMW lug bolts, on the hub and the wheel too. The 17mm speed wrench.worked fine. A stomp to loosen. 3 stage star pattern to tighten with a stomp.. No clue as to spec , probably around 80 lb/' for a 12mm . Only sheared one. in 20 yrs. Never lost any. Rassen frassen idjit I bought the Rat from stretched 3 wheel studs. on the LF. Musta used air which I don't have.
grin2.gif

Originally Posted by Traction
Originally Posted by hallstevenson
You've stated your belief. Leave it at that and move on. 98% of folks are going to keep doing what they've been doing - "I've been doing it for 42 years with no issues". If you convince the other 2%, be happy.

Did you even read the charts at the top of the page? Maybe not an issue, but that still doesn't always make it right.

Yes I did and no offense, I don't care about your training manual in this context. What part of my explanation that no matter what you say, some folks don't care or don't believe you or will just keep doing what they do. FWIW, I don't put anti-seize on wheel studs....

I agree lube will make a bolt become over-tightened. Many areas under your car can and do become wet from spilled or leaking oil. Isn't this a risk in general with a car since it does leak oil?

From what I have heard, lube can cause you to over-tighten by about 1.2 times. So why not just lower the specified torque by about 20% on fasteners that are lubed?

Seems so simple, what am I missing here?

Originally Posted by philipp10
From what I have heard, lube can cause you to over-tighten by about 1.2 times. So why not just lower the specified torque by about 20% on fasteners that are lubed? Seems so simple, what am I missing here?