Getting a New iMac Question

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have an older 2011 iMac and am purchasing a 2017 iMac. I want to get everything off my old 2011 iMac onto my "new" 2017 iMac. What is the easiest way? Or should I say, the best way? Or is there an easiest bestest way?

Are you running Time Machine on your old iMac? If so, that's a pretty easy way to move your stuff. I've plugged the Time Machine backup disk into the new machine and the data started flowing after answering a few prompts.

I migrated over a home network once. The source (old) iMac was running a pre-Time Machine OS. It took quite a while.

Note: I am not a Mac expert.

YES! I am running Time Machine. And it is connected by Ethernet to my old iMac.

I'm going ASSUME your 2011 iMac has Thunderbolt. That's when Apple started rolling it out, and it makes life a lot easier. From what I can find, all 2011s did.

The way I would do it is first get one of these

https://www.apple.com/shop/product/MMEL2AM/A/thunderbolt-3-usb-c-to-thunderbolt-2-adapter

And a USB C cable.

Connect the adapter to the Thunderbolt port on the back of your 2011 iMac(it's the D shaped connector with a lighting bolt symbol next to it) and the USB-C cable from the adapter to one of the USB-C ports on the new 2011 iMac.

Boot the 2011 iMac in Target Disk Mode by holding "T" while powering it on. It should power up to a gray screen with the thunderbolt symbol(a lighting bolt) bouncing around. At the same time, it should appear as an external volume on your 2017 iMac.

Launch "Migration Assistant" on your new Mac, follow the prompts, and let it go.

Thunderbolt is fast, and the transfer speed is probably limited by the speed of the drives in the two computers. Depending on how much data you're moving, it may take a few minutes, or it may take overnight.