Do all replacement LED headlight bulbs suck?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Originally Posted by Skippy722
But in typical BITOG style, it's new therefore should be shunned, and people who have absolutely no experience with/even owned whatever it is will dismiss it and everyone who's happy with it.

Once the world's scientists and engineers have been able to write down, on a piece of paper, a set of standards for LED retrofit bulbs, I will gladly dump every halogen bulb in my car for LEDs.

Until that day, I find that the current crop of products on the market are jumping the gun, to put it mildly. I've had plenty of experiences with the LED bulbs you wrote about, including a dead-on-arrival experience.

It's funny that we talk so much about oils meeting spec, like SN, or ATF+4, or Dex III, but we're so eager to buy into the latest LED fad when, for the last 2+ years, the world's scientists and engineers haven't been able to actually write down, on a piece of paper, what makes an acceptable LED retrofit bulb
wink.gif

I don't buy "draft"-Dexron 7 fluid
wink.gif

Originally Posted by Nick1994
It isn't so much about the cost of replacing the bulbs, I just don't want to cram my hands in there to replace them. I can't find 9011 bulbs in auto parts stores easily here, they're pretty rare. And since I clip them with wire cutters to make them fit, they probably aren't warranty-able.

And there was no glare whatsoever with the LEDs or with the 9011s.

There is no use arguing with them. Just be careful, they may go vigilante on you if you go with LED's!
crackmeup2.gif

Diode Dynamics has a 30 day satisfaction guarantee. Don't like them, send them back for a refund... but yes, they're friggin expensive, and like I said if they fail I'm not buying more. But, they're still working perfectly in totally sealed enclosures (I.e heat build up) 7 months later.