2019 Mazda CX-5 Diesel

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi there;

Over the weekend we were checking on some cars and stumbled upon this one.

It really makes me wonder what the corporate was thinking on this one; frankly, if there is a demand for such vehicle, especially after all fuel efficiency technology that is in the place and readily available nowadays or simply after the diesel fiasco by VW

Nevertheless, it is pricey but it is looking sharp; Personally I see this to be taken off the market in 3 years, the most

So, what's the BITOG community take on Mazda's CX-5 Diesel

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

The diesel is a $5000 option, so I don't see many takers at that price. Maybe it has to do with greater towing capability.

I'm a semi truck mechanic. Only someone who's a fan of diesel will buy this vehicle. The vehicle is an engineering "we made it" exercise for Mazda.Mazda knows the take rate will be low and the engine discontinued sooner rather than later.

I really want one, but the emissions systems scares me. Modern turbo gas engines have the same nice flat torque curve that diesels have enjoyed, without the DPF or SCR garbage to choke them down.

With SUVs like the 2019 RAV4 Hybrid crushing it on fuel economy, on cheaper gasoline, and being a great ride, the CX-5 diesel is an answer to a question that should have been answered 6 - 7 years ago.

Too late to market imo.

I really love the idea of diesel,but my 2.0L TGDI engine produces 270hp/295lb-ft

so for 2.2L 168hp/290torque seems weak when considering the massive surcharge for the diesel engine
and vast complexity of the emissions systems.(can you say lots of regens in winter anyone)

also gas is somewhere between 0 and 75cents cheaper per gallon here.

If they had that engine in a subaru forester with a stick shift. for under $32000 I'd bite hard. (lol right?)

Emission hardware has killed the diesel market. I really think that gasoline is cheaper in the long run.