mevotech control arms? anybody with experience?

Status
Not open for further replies.
i recently got myself a used up somewhat rusty 2005 subaru forester for cheap as a project car to use as a recreational vehicle/beater.
so, i don't mind going cheap on some parts. i am a young technician at a dealership too so i have access to the shop to work on it myself.

my question is, how do mevotech control arms hold up?
im not concerned about the bushings and ball joints, but the actual control arm itself.
i dont mind using a press and replacing the parts on it, but is the actual metal and welding decent quality?

$60/side vs $300+/side oem

Last edited:
China quality. The brand name is just that..a name. That part prolly has 20 other 'brand' names to go with it. They will work, but don't expect OEM quality, or longevity.

on a 2005 I'd go for it.. no need to drop that much money(oem) in a 15 year old car.

Rand,
Do you have any past experience with mevotech control arms? My only concern is other parts compatibility, like if i can replace the bushings and stuff with other brand stuff. the "skeleton" of the control arm is pretty much what I am really concerned about

It depends how long you plan to keep the car for. On the few occasions that we have installed Mevotech control arms, the bushings had become completely dry-rotted and split within 30K miles.

If Subaru sells bushings for your application, I would seriously consider that option.

First hand experience with them in my 2008 TL. In the case of the Honda parts, the compliance bushing was WAY too soft and I replaced them with OEM parts. After that, no more problems. The metal has been fine and the smaller bushings seem to be ok. The OEM parts pressed right in, so the machining was good to go on that area.

I have MOOG arms on my Accord and those have been just fine. Their bushings were stiffer from the go.

Originally Posted by The Critic