Alternative for John Deere power steering fluid

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have been researching power steering fluid for my 1958 John Deere 620. I found lots of old threads on the antique tractor forums saying that you have to use Deere's AF2235R. They say the pumps don't work correctly unless its John Deere. Then others that use Hygard without issue.
Here is what I have found so far. Deere's AF2235R is made my Citgo and it's an EP 68 gear oil

My questions are:

Will Hygard work instead of the expensive AF2235R? What other fluids will work?

deere power steering oil

data sheet

msds

Hygard MSDS

Deere Hygard is ISO 48 to 68 which means it's basically a 10-20 weight oil vs the Deere AF2235R which is a 20W oil.

What is the latest thinking on this?

Thanks

I would use it. The new Hygard is used in modern tractor power steering, and transmissions. These newer units have very critical tolerances and run under very demanding conditions.

I've owned a number of two cylinder John Deere tractors and have used both fluids. When I actually used the tractors for field work, I found the JD power steering oil to be the better option. If you use Hy-Gard use a good brand, not generic that just claims to be 303 fluid

About thirty years ago I spoke with an engineer at Shell who at one time made the JD power steering oil. He explained the differences which i didn't fully understand but the overall picture was the power steering oil had some different extreme pressure additives and was a distinctively different product.

Last edited by a moderator:
Originally Posted by CJWinWA
I've owned a number of two cylinder John Deere tractors and have used both fluids. When I actually used the tractors for field work, I found the JD power steering oil to be the better option. If you use Hy-Gard use a good brand, not generic that just claims to be 303 fluid