Amsoil 5W30 Signature Series in Ecoboost with BG MOA

[Linked Image]

Glad you recd your UOA. Is the MOA the new synthetic version? Thought Ca and Z would have been a bit higher, but I'm no expert.

Originally Posted by buster
Fe and Cu are elevated. What's the purpose of adding MOA?

Placebo effect.

But the moly and Ca do look a bit higher than SS alone.

Last edited:
I would probably just go with Rotella Multi Vehicle or Gas Truck 5w30.

Also need to see where that silicon is coming from... check air filter and piping.

Ecoboost (per title) and it's a 5.4L (per Blackstone)? I take it Blackstone has the incorrect engine and universal averages for your truck or
confused2.gif

Originally Posted by The Critic
Originally Posted by buster
Fe and Cu are elevated. What's the purpose of adding MOA?

Placebo effect.

But the moly and Ca do look a bit higher than SS alone.

Based on other UOA's on this oil and grade, the Mg and moly are only elevated. Everything is fairly the same. What's interesting is this oil, with the BG MOA addy, sheared a full point more than the same oil in a 3.6L V6 Jeep..add insult to injury, the oil in the Jeep was ran a full 3k miles more than this oil. Is it possible the V8 v. V6 had any kind of role in the shear difference or the BG MOA addy threw off the oils chemistry/AW properties somehow?

Pretty expensive oil change in my opinion...

Amsoil 5/30 in Jeep (7.5k)

Last edited:
The Blackstone assumption is correct. This engine had significant work done on it. The chain, camphasers and many parts were replaced by the dealer. This is probably why the silicon, copper and extra iron are in this sample.

Im not sure about the Jeep but this engine is turbo direct injection and is known for fuel dilution. The dilution is my main concern. My guess is the dilution is causing camphaser failure.

While the Amsoil 5W30 stayed in grade it did so barely. Thus I am looking to an HDEO MultiVehicle 5W30 in the future...

Last edited:
Originally Posted by Navi