Oil for mk6 golf TDI

Status
Not open for further replies.
This is my first time posting here and I need insight on what oil to run for my golf, I live in phoenix arizona running 5w-30 liqui moly top tec 4200 and my golf is dpf deleted with a power increase tune. I was looking at Amsoil's european 5w30, do you guys think that would be a better oil or are there better oils I can use than those? Everyone says that VW recommends 5w-30, is that the only weight I should stick with because I notice that some 0w-40 and 5w40 oil have better specs for the most part like amsoil European 0w40 has superior stats except for a higher Noack % which is still lower than top tec 4200.

Lot's of VW guys on here that I am sure will answer. But why not save some money with Castrol 0w40 or Mobil 0w40 at WM? Those 2 oils are cheap and have lots of certifications

Originally Posted by RECON_RON
This is my first time posting here and I need insight on what oil to run for my golf, I live in phoenix arizona running 5w-30 liqui moly top tec 4200 and my golf is dpf deleted with a power increase tune. I was looking at Amsoil's european 5w30, do you guys think that would be a better oil or are there better oils I can use than those? Everyone says that VW recommends 5w-30, is that the only weight I should stick with because I notice that some 0w-40 and 5w40 oil have better specs for the most part like amsoil European 0w40 has superior stats except for a higher Noack % which is still lower than top tec 4200.

Grade (weight) is irrelevant because your VW gives a required approval. What is the required approval?

Find the least expensive oil that has the correct approval for your car.

Originally Posted by kschachn

Grade (weight) is irrelevant because your VW gives a required approval. What is the required approval?

2.0TDI is vw 504/507......comes in xW30 grade only (regulated by a vw standard)

But since he has a DPF delete.......anything in xW40 MB 229.5 (as suggested above)