College costs shocked me...

Status
Not open for further replies.
I just checked the current cost of the public university I went to, $10k fees, $10k housing, $5k meals per year. I remember it being less than half that 10 years ago. When I attended community college it was $12 per unit, it's over $40 per unit now.

I graduated debt free but it wasn't an easy road. It included working multiple jobs, military service, building up an education fund, being married, community college, and an 11 year journey.

I promote developing a skill and a plan for educating yourself to do that skill the best you can. If that skill is plumbing or pediatrician you will be successful and you will be able to pay for it.

Like Kestas, my late 1970's college costs were a pittance. I worked one year out of high school at U.S. Steel and saved all my money for college (lived at home). My kids started out at community college and my wife found thousands of dollars in misc. small scholarships - still available if one puts in the effort.

In Michigan, the initial price increases were blamed on less state funded tuition assistance. It used to be over 60%. Not sure what it is now, but I believe that it is under 30%. For many years, tuition increases were 6% to 8% every year. This chart shows the exorbitant changes:
[Linked Image from milhs.org]

Fawteen is correct about the campus changes. No single line cafeterias anymore. Now they have food courts. https://eatatstate.msu.edu/ "our Executive Chefs and Sous Chefs create top-notch cuisine for university students, faculty, staff and guests." But, the food is much healthier. Change - can't get around it. It's not unlike our complaints about vehicle costs or "too large homes" due to all the "extras". We accept and pay for the heightened standard of living we, the U.S., feel entitled to.

Last edited:
Boy am I glad I went to tech school!